Pancakes Without Flour?!

Hey ya’ll! It is Thursday, which is my favorite day of the week for obvious reasons. I don’t have class on Fridays. Thank god. I deserve it as a fifth year senior! Also Thursday means celebrate. Tonight I’m having homemade enchiladas and some ice cold margaritas. My roommate and I know how to throw down on a Thursday night. Last Thursday night we made vegan chocolate cupcakes – scrumptious!

Anyways today I’m posting about pancakes. Flourless pancakes. Yes, you heard me. No flour. Just two ingredient pancakes. I creep on Pinterest on a regular basis, so I saw this idea a lot on various boards.

DSC02723This looks absolutely disgusting, I know. When I was first mixing it I was like oh god this is going to be a hot mess. I wasn’t even sure if this was going to be edible. I was convinced that it was going to turn into an omelet or something since one of the two ingredients was an egg.

DSC02724When I poured the batter onto the pan from a 1/4 cup then things started to look. Okay, these somewhat are starting to resemble pancakes. Do they have a weird color? Yes. Do they look super runny? Yes. Are the typical bubbles appearing? YES. That means it is a success, at least in appearance wise. As I was flipping and turning them, the pancakes became soft and browned on each side like a normal pancake does.

DSC02729One mashed banana and one egg stirred together led to this beautiful plate of fluffiness. Yes, they look like real pancakes. They also tasted like real pancakes. It was incredible. Pinterest definitely knows its stuff when it comes to recipes. I’m glad I have discovered this recipe because I can’t wait to turn it into crazy typical Lindsay recipes like my other pancake ones that have flour in them.

DSC02730Flourless Pancakes:

1 Banana
1 egg

1. Mash banana into a small mixing bowl until there are no chunks.
2. Add in one egg.
3. Mix well until there is a liquidy smooth consistency.4. Measure out 1/4 c. at at time onto a pan.
5. Wait until the top of the pancake bubbles then flip over until lightly browned on both sides.
6. Serve with whatever toppings you desire (I put bananas, chocolate chips, and syrup on mine).

DSC02731Seriously this is my new favorite recipe. Probably not, but it is definitely healthy and really easy to make. If you want to make more, you can just double the recipe. Also another healthy option would be to switch out the entire egg and just place in 4 egg whites. I can’t wait to get creative in the kitchen with these bad boys.

DSC02728Sorry for overloading ya’ll with pancake photos. I’m just in love with them. It is ridiculous. I actually took about 10 photos of the pancakes, so ya’ll are lucky that I’m only showing you this many. I hope ya’ll have a fantastic weekend. I know mine is going to be filled with tons of stuff. Tomorrow we are celebrating my cousin’s birthday, then Saturday is mother’s birthday, and Sunday I have volleyball tryouts for my Maccabi Volleyball team. I’m so excited!

Have ya’ll ever had flourless pancakes?
If so, what do you think of them? Any cool recipes using them?

14 thoughts on “Pancakes Without Flour?!

  1. So I have a lot to say about these pancakes. :) I currently can’t have all of the ingredients in them, but I finally convinced my mom and dad to try them. They’re in love :)

    What I’ve found from my internet snooping: using egg whites (while definitely not as nutritious) makes them super fluffy. Using mashed squash like acorn makes them super thick. Cooking in coconut oil makes them taste even better. And Carrots N’ Cake has made a break-off recipe that she calls her “Sweet Breakfast Scramble” or “French Toast Scramble.” My mom’s been making it a lot and she said it’s the real deal.

    Okay, that’s enough for my comment, but those pictures look fantastic! Love how many they make!

  2. i been seeing this on pinterest too but always alil weirded out by them but these look sooo good i am def making them tomorrow!! ive subbed almond flour for reg flour in some recipes and it came out good!

  3. I haven’t made these yet because I don’t have bananas… haha. they seem really yummy though! wondering if I can use egg substitute instead of real egg for the sake of calories…?

    looks like im gonna find out :)

  4. These pancakes tasted especially good considering how quick and easy they were to make. The one problem i had was how unwilling they were to be flipped. mine didn’t seem to stick together. I’m sure it was just my bad flipping technique but i’ve never had problems with normal pancakes. Still loved them however.

    My fiance’s new fav is “scrambled banana and eggs” haha

  5. These are good. I made them yesterday. I would like to know what other items I can do other than banana. I am out of banana today. Any ideas?

    No reason to add oil in cooking these. Just spray your pan with Olive Oil Pam. Walla! Tasty & filling!

Leave a Reply

