Jin Ramen: The Cold Weather Cure

Hey guys! Friday is such a great day of the week. Plus my brother and his friend are in town, which is super fun. That means my posts for the next few days will probably just be filled with fatty goodness. I’m not complaining. When they got in, I had Doughnut Plant waiting for them (I’ll share this another day), but then I had to head off to work. They ended up going with me to my stop and walking to a bagel shop that apparently is amazing (I don’t direct people to bad food ever – it is my life skill). Work was crazy. The kids were crazy. Anyways we had plans to meet up for ramen after I got off work. I thought of all the amazing places that are offered in NYC, and ended up choosing one right by my school that I have always wanted to go to.

photo copy 6

Introducing Jin Ramen. The problem with ramen restaurants are that you can’t make reservations, so pretty much it is first come, first served. Otherwise the rest of you are shoved outside to wait in the cold. However, as the crazy foodie that I am, I think it is totally worth it. We were blessed by the ramen gods though because a bunch of people complained and left, so we waited a minimal amount of time (probably like 3-4 minutes) when my brother and his friend go there, so we were seated almost immediately. Success. The restaurant is pretty small too, so that is one reason why it takes so long to get seated. Plus the food is the bomb, so people know what is up.

IMG_3236

If you really know me, you will know that I have a deep love for pork buns. Anything in a steamed bun is particularly delicious to me, and I was happy to find out that steamed pork buns are a staple at ramen shops. THANK YOU. I got an order of steamed pork buns, which you could pick to get either 2 or 3. I’m obviously not a massive pig, so I just chose to get 2. It was Gua Bao buns stuffed with chashu pork (I have realized that this may be the greatest pork to exist, so thank you Jin Ramen), iceberg lettuce, and spicy mayo. I am obsessed. This was definitely one of the best pork buns that I have ever had. I probably will go here after class just so I can enjoy some of these bad boys. It came served along with a nice portion of cabbage, which I really enjoyed. There was a nice dressing on it, which paired well with the pork buns.

IMG_3235

My brother and his friend ended up splitting (besides an order of pork buns too, can’t miss those) a dish that had something to do with dumplings. I forgot to take a picture of the menu because there has been some new additions to it compared to the one online and the old menu. This came with a mustard sauce and another dipping sauce. They ended up going with chicken (you could get chicken or pork), since they were having pork in their ramen. It looked really good. They seemed to love this sauce that looked like a black bean dip. I would definitely try this next time I go. They had a ton of appetizers that looked good, but I’m obviously biased toward my beloved pork buns.

IMG_3239

Oh man. This was a bowl of deliciousness. My brother ended up getting the Green Curry ramen, which is a new menu item. It said it was three pepper spicy on the menu, but I think mine was definitely way spicier than this. It literally tasted like a liquid version of green curry with ramen noodles in it. He ended up adding enoki mushrooms to it, and the dish as a whole was great. There was a wide variety of vegetables in it that you would typically find in a green curry. I am getting this one next time I go because I feel in love with the coconut creamy goodness that this has to offer.

IMG_3240

My brother’s friend ended up going with the Tonkotsu ramen, which is just a pork bone based ramen. She added enoki mushrooms to it to, which are these small skinny things. According to the menu, this ramen cooks for hours upon hours to get the rich flavors out of the pork bone. It was really simple, but so delicious. All of the basic ramens come with noodles, scallions, a hard boiled egg, and charshu pork. You have the option of adding in extra sides, which is pretty cool I think because you get to create your own ramen.

IMG_3241

Now my bowl of ramen. Look at that kind of creepy orange color, but it is just filled with warm spicy broth. Mine definitely came with a kick. I was chugging water, but every moment was worth it. I ended up adding some tofu, bok choy, and enoki mushrooms to it. My original choice was another new menu item, but it has four spicy peppers next to it and I realized I didn’t want to spend the rest of my night experiencing actual death. Therefore I went with the spicy tonkotsu ramen, which is the same pork ramen that my brother’s friend got, but with spicy mayu sauce and rayu (a spicy sesame oil). I loved having all the extra things in it. It made it really hearty. I even had so much leftover that I got to take some home for snacks for later. I think this place is a really good deal because the ramen is only 11-13$ per bowl, and then you can get add ins if you want from .75-1.25$. Overall I am in love with this place and I definitely will be coming back. Ramen is in.

Have an awesome Saturday!

Have you ever had real ramen before?What would you want in your ramen?

2 thoughts on “Jin Ramen: The Cold Weather Cure

Leave a Reply

