The $2.25 Salad

Hey ya’ll! I’m pretty exhausted today. Seriously almost too tired to post, but then I was like I can’t leave my loyal followers out of the daily loop. I’m tired because I took my brother and his friend on a self-made food tour (I should totally do for money in real life), and we walked for hours upon hours around the lower part of Manhattan. After that I had around 4 hours of straight class, which can get pretty exhausting. However I am pushing through and showing ya’ll one of the recipes I made during my SNAP Challenge. With the SNAP Challenge, each meal is only supposed to be around $1.50, but this was 2.25$. I got two lunches out of it though, so I think it was pretty good. Plus some of my other meals were pretty cheap.

IMG_3295

Cranberry Almond Apple Salad

1/2 bag of Romaine Lettuce (.96 cents/serving)
1/10 of Granny Smith Apple (.07 cents/serving)1 chicken breast (1.07/serving)
a pinch of cranberries (.05 cents for a pinch, actual serving is 1/4 c so .15 cents if use that)
a pinch of almonds (.05 cents for a pinch, actual serving is 1/4 c, so .13 cents if use that)
light drizzle of mashed raspberries with water (.05 cents/serving)

IMG_3293

1. Take a single chicken breast and slice it up into tiny chunks.

2. Place in a medium sized pan that has been sprayed with non-stick cooking spray. Cook the chicken until it is cooked through.

3. Place Romaine lettuce in a bowl. Then add in the cooked chunks of chicken.

IMG_3294

4. Slice up a Granny Smith apple into 10 slices, only use one of the slices to chop it up into fine pieces to place over the salad (you can use the rest of the apple for whatever you please. I ended up eating mine for a snack a few hours later by just placing the slices in a plastic bag and placing them in the fridge).

5. Add a pinch of almonds and craisins to the top of the salad. I didn’t add that much because I wanted to save my nuts and craisins for snacks for the other days, which would provide me with energy from the healthy source of fat.

IMG_3296

6. Mash a few raspberries in a small plastic container. Add a little bit of water and olive oil until it becomes a runny dressing. Drizzle over the top of the lettuce and you are good to go.

I was actually pretty proud of myself for making this salad and having it under 7$. Salads are so expensive, and I don’t understand why. You can make them really cheap, so why are you charging more for a salad in comparison to a hamburger. Get with the program people! America is fat, so why don’t you charge more for the fattening stuff and less for the healthy food items. I know there is much more to this situation since I am a nutrition masters student, but still it just bothers me that people don’t have the access to healthy foods like they do with the fattening junk. I am going to reflect on my SNAP Challenge on my Thursday post about life as a nutrition student. Ya’ll will get to hear my struggles through this experience and my realizations about people who live on SNAP. Anyways back to the deliciousness that is this salad. I was so impressed with it that I am actually going to be adding it to my regular routine of meals. I like having a salad a few times a week because they are fun to just mix in random things with and create whatever you desire at the moment. Plus it is an easy way to get in a large amount of fruits and vegetables, so definitely go for creating your own salad to help get nutrients!

I know I promised this post last night, but I ended up getting distracted by working on my SNAP challenge paper. Plus my internet was pissing me off while I was trying to upload pictures of my salad. How rude! Anyways lucky for ya’ll, I’m giving two posts for one! So stay tuned for my WIAW post.

One thought on “The $2.25 Salad

Leave a Reply

