The Need For Healing

Today is going to be a small educational lesson about the chronic auto-immune disease I have, Psoriatic Arthritis. I know I talked about my treatments this one time, but I never really told ya’ll how a condition like this develops and how it actually affects the body. The goal of my experiment is to reduce these symptoms and causes, so I can be a super healthy individual and not really so much on my various medications.

WARNING: There may be some gross psoriasis pictures, so if peeling skin and red patches freak you out then you may want to skip this post for today!

Lets start with some basic definitions (these are sort of my own/mix of the internet):
Psoriasis: It is a skin condition that occurs from the shut down of the immune system, and it creates red raised patches that are itchy and flake.
Arthritis: Simple, it is the inflammation of the joints.
Psoriatic Arthritis: The inflammation of the joints caused by the skin condition of   Psoriasis (wooo that was pretty easy, love simple concepts).

Psoriasis that is new on my elbows

I have actually had Psoriasis since I was about 9 years old. It first appeared on the lower back of my neck, but it never had the flaky effects that are usually associated with Psoriasis. Psoriasis appears as a red raised patch because the process skin cells rising to the surface to leave the body is now at an accelerated rate, so the dead skin cells build up on the skins surface, hence the bump of skin. Luckily my Psoriasis went away after a couple of months during the summer. However when it came back when I was 20, I had no idea because it had moved into my lower scalp instead of being on the back of my neck. A main cause of Psoriasis is stress, and at this time in my life I was a pre-med student at Boston University with the obvious stresses of intense school work and being perfect.

Small spot of Psoriasis on my Scalp – this is it at it’s best so far.

Another Scalp Location

I have the Psoriasis as a genetic condition passed on from my family, but it led to my immune system shutting down thus allowing more things to be able to happen within my body since there was nothing to protect it. In comes the arthritis. The synovial fluid within the joint capsule turns into an inflammed membrane. When this occurs in your joints, the joint becomes puffy and there is an intense pain that associates itself with this activity. The inflammed fluid then begins to eat away at the cartilage that is surrounding your bone. As this goes on in life, the cartilage disappears and then permanent damage can occur to the bone. This is why so many people need knee replacements.

My hope for experimenting with Your Healing Diet, by Deirdre Earls, is that the inflammation will slow down or stop. This will help reduce my pain and reliance on dangerous medicines like methotrexate, which is a chemotherapy drug used for rheumatology.

Anyways, I hope I have not scarred you guys for life with my gross scalp. I know it is lovely, and nooo I cannot just use some dandruff shampoo to make this go away. I could use some psoriasis treatment stuff, but it smells really gross. I want to do things the natural way: through a nutritious and healing diet.

Don’t worry! The scientific and background posts are going to be over. I have some really great stuff planned for ya’ll! Restaurant reviews, recipes, and fun Lindsay adventures coming to an audience near you soon!

Hope you all have a wonderful weekend!

Do you know any young people with Arthritis or Psoriasis?
Do you have an autoimmune disease?

Leave a Reply

