Sushi’s Healing Powers

Hey ya’ll! In Your Healing Diet Austin, by Deirdre Earls, there is an entire section on places to eat out at in Austin while following a Healing Diet. While most of the restaurants are in Austin, you can apply the genres of food to anywhere in the US or world. For instance, the book names a couple of sushi restaurants in Austin, like Uchi and Uchiko (definitely going to review this yummy place later on), but the book then states that all Japanese restaurants can meet the dietary rules of a Healing Diet.

Since it was a Saturday (my day to eat out), I decided to go find some sushi to enjoy on this new plan of mine. We just got a new sushi place, How Do You Roll, in San Marcos. I’ve been to the Austin location and I love it, so I was really excited when I found out the news. The basic concept of the restaurant is that you can create your own sushi rolls instead of having to pick from a long list of rolls containing a few items that you may not want to eat. Pretty much I’m in love with anything that can be made customizable!

This is the where you create your roll. First you start off with picking what type of wrapping you want, which is either soy or seaweed. I think that this is very considerate because some people do not eat sushi just because they don’t like the taste of seaweed. In my opinion I don’t think you even taste it, but whatever floats people’s boat. Next you get to choose what rice, which your options are brown or white. I love that they offer brown rice because it is a healthier choice and a whole grain that is needed in a balanced diet. After they place the rice on the roll, you then get to choose your veggies, fruit, and protein. The only thing I wish they offered was tofu for the vegetarians and vegans out there. You can still get an all veggie/fruit roll, but I think it would be nice to have some tofu in the roll. Finally they roll it up in front of you, slice it into 10 pieces (yes 10 whole pieces), and then you can add sauces and toppings onto the roll.

I ended up getting my rolls to go. My first roll was an all fruit roll, which I thought was extremely delicious. I used a seaweed wrap, brown rice, mango, strawberries, mandarin oranges, and it was topped with a strawberry sauce from mashed up strawberries. I personally love vegetarian rolls because they have a more fresh and natural taste to them than the ones with chopped up meat.

While the Healing Diet says to follow a mostly plant based diet, I decided to add some spicy tuna to my second roll. It is such a small amount though that it doesn’t even count as a normal portion of protein. The rest of my roll was a seaweed wrap, brown rice, avocado, strawberries, and mandarin orange. I know, more fruit, what can I say? I love the taste of fruit in a roll. I topped my roll with sesame seeds and enjoyed dipping it into a small amount of gluten free soy sauce (that was from my apartment).

It was an awesome dinner that was extremely affordable. I got 20 pieces of sushi for $11.45. Definitely winning right there. Another great thing about How Do You Roll is that the staff is extremely friendly and willing to help you with your dietary concerns. If you go to the Austin location, they offer punch cards and when you eventually get 9 rolls you get the 10th roll free. Best deal ever.

I hope everyone is having a fantastic Sunday and Fathers Day!

What would you put in your sushi roll?
Do you like the idea of customizable and healthy food?

9 thoughts on “Sushi’s Healing Powers

  1. ok so google reader clearly hasn’t been updating me!? all of your posts are incredible sweetheart! I have missed so much 😥 I am so sorry love. I love this place. I would totally go here with you. I love mango in my rolls. mango, avocado, and salmon = heaven 🙂 do it next time

Leave a Reply

