The Art of Asian Brunch

Hey ya’ll! We are almost half way through the week, hurrah! I thought for today I would talk about another type of place that you can go out to eat at when you adopt Your Healing Diet. As we can tell from my sushi post, I love Asian food. Not only is it tasty, but is it also very healthy for you if you know how to manage your way through a menu. No wonder most Asians are very thin! One of my favorite Asian meals is Chinese Dim Sum. In my mind, I like to think of it as an Asian brunch. Brunch and Asian food: two of my favorite things. My favorite place to go in Austin is Chinatown, so one Saturday my brother, dad, and I decided to treat ourselves.

I love the decor and atmosphere of Chinatown because it is not kitschy. Instead it has a modern and sleek style with a few classic Chinese symbols around the restaurant. Anyways, dim sum does not start until 11 and I recommend making reservations because this place gets extremely crowded real quick. The way Dim Sum works is that the waiters come around with carts filled with delicious food, you pick what you want of the cart, and the waiter will mark it on your sheet. The prices are based on the size of the dish, so there is small, medium, large, extra large, and specialty.

We started out the meal with many dishes, but one of my favorite is the shrimp toasts. While this item does not exactly fit the Your Healing Diet, I believe that you cannot completely restrict yourself especially when you are first switching to a mainly plant based diet. I personally love seafood, so I will never be able to give that up. Anyways, the shrimp toast was perfect crisp and not soggy like it is at other dim sum locations.

The pot stickers at Chinatown are seriously amazing. They pan fry them right in front of you in a dumpling cart. It feels like you are eating legitimate food from the streets of Beijing, but you are really just sitting in a comfy chair in a restaurant. The outsides of the dumplings are perfect mix of crispiness from being pan-fried and the softness from the dumpling wrapper, and the vegetables inside are a nice blend that provides a good crunch when you bite into the dumplings. The dumpling cart is one of my brother’s favorite things at Dim Sum.

One of my dad’s favorite dishes is the salt and pepper shrimp. It is lightly battered and gives a nice spicy taste when you bite into it. The batter provides a crunch as you bite it, but then the warm juices of the shrimp burst into your mouth when you start chewing on it. I’m not going to lie, but this is definitely one of their best dishes. Not to mention that all of their shrimp dishes are extremely delicious. You can eat battered items like this in moderation. We split this between three people, so each person got about two shrimps. That will definitely not put any significant dent in your caloric budget or your healthy lifestyle.

We enjoyed tons of goodies at Dim Sum, and I left a happy camper. The best part was that I wasn’t extremely full because what we ate was very low calorie and pretty healthy for you. I recommend that everyone goes out to get some Dim Sum immediately, and if you are going to Healthy Living Summit and I happen to be there then let me take you to get some since I used to live in Boston for a while! I know my good eats there.

 

 

 

 

 

I hope you enjoyed my review of Chinatown in Austin. If you are ever in the neighborhood you should go. It is in north Austin, but totally worth the trip (although I live close by, so it isn’t a problem for me).

Before I go I have to share the most perfect dish ever: Avocado stuffed with crab and shrimp. Hello perfection, I do love you. It is creamy and warm. The flavors of the dish explode in your mouth and come together in a great combination.

Have you ever had Dim Sum before?
What is your favorite Dim Sum dish?

6 thoughts on “The Art of Asian Brunch

Leave a Reply

