Food Trailer Love

Hey ya’ll! Sorry for no post yesterday. I’ve been extremely stressed out from all the stuff that has been going on in my life: school, health issues, and moving. Too much at times. Anyways for a much happier note, I thought I would share with you one of my loves in life. Food trailers. Austin is known for having some of the best food trailers, and living close by in San Marcos is great because the food trailer trend has come to town! I decided to go on a food trailer adventure.

St. Pita’s is probably my favorite trailer so far in San Marcos (although I’m still waiting to try a couple of the other ones). Obviously stated in the name, this trailer serves pitas. These pitas are ridiculously good. The menu only has four items on it: falafel, fried avocado, the classic with beef and lamb, and an all veggie pita. Since my trip to Israel, I have been on the search for falafel that is close to my new standards. This is a pretty hard task for food places since falafel in Israel is one of the greatest things, besides schnitzel of course.

I obviously ordered the falafel pita, which comes with chickpea fritters, romaine lettuce, tomatoes, cucumber, red onion sauce, and their saintly sauce. The saintly sauce is a mix of a chipotle aioli and tzatziki sauce. Crazy good is right. You have to ask for hummus on it, which I did since hummus makes everything better. Lesson 1 from Israel. They serve the pita’s really hot, so the temperature does not change when you are eating it. No one wants a cold falafel.

I am impressed. This falafel pita is pretty good. Instead of using a traditional stuffed pita, St. Pita’s rolls up the insides in a flat pita. Their pita is perfectly baked, and extremely soft. This goes well with the crunch of the ground chickpea fritters. I think the falafel are pretty good, maybe not as great as Israeli falafel because they are missing some spices I believe in the actual fritters. However, I still will go here time and time again to have this as my weekly treat. The saintly sauce is a little spicy, so be warned before diving into this pita without a drink. You will probably be wishing that you bought that water bottle.

Next on my stop was the trailer next to St. Pitas, which is How Sweet It is. The trailer serves cupcakes, cake balls, cheesecake bites, and gelato. What a hard decision about what to get. Not really though since I LOVE cupcakes. My future roommate said that these weren’t that great, so I wanted to make sure that it was true.

When I went to the trailer, they were having tons of new flavor specials. I decided on the root beer float cupcake and the cherry limeade cupcake. What creative flavors, right? Well first off, I find the icing to be generic. It sort of reminds me of frosting that you would find at a grocery store cupcake, but in my opinion I like that overly sweet taste. The limeade cupcake is lacking that lime flavor. It is very faint, so I would recommend adding more flavor to it. The root beer float cupcake had tons of flavor, and I thought it was pretty delicious. This cupcake trailer has hits and misses, so I’ll have to sample more things in order to figure out if it really is that great or not.

Since I have such a love for cupcakes, I decided to visit the other cupcake trailer in town to compare the cupcakes. Lovebaked has had my eye for a while now since they facebook about awesome 1/2 off discounts for students and unique flavors of the day like Banana Split. I was already out, so I went over.

I got the For the Girls cupcake, which is a vanilla cupcake filled with chocolate ganache and topped with fresh strawberry buttercream. Obviously from the picture and the description, lovebaked is far superior to How Sweet It is. The cupcake at Lovebaked had far more flavor in it, and the frosting was decadent. When you bite into the cupcake, there is the sweet surprise of the chocolate ganache. Not only is the cupcake delicious, but it has a cute name to go along with it. The staff at the trailer is extremely friendly, and I will definitely be frequenting this trailer most often.

While the cupcakes weren’t exactly on the Your Healing Diet plan, in my approach to dietetics and nutrition I believe that you need to treat yourself 20% of the time in order to have a completely healthy diet. There is no need to go overboard, but a cupcake (I divide mine into four pieces and have one piece at a time) is not going to hurt you. The falafel was on the plan though, which I love since it is healthy and delicious. It has actually inspired me to attempt to make my own falafel. Hopefully it comes out successful.

Have an awesome weekend! I’ll be studying for two exams that I have on Monday.

What is your favorite flavor of cupcake?
Have you ever been to a city with tons of food trailers?

15 thoughts on “Food Trailer Love

  1. I’m so glad you were able to enjoy three food trailers! I haven’t been to Israel, so I don’t know what I’m missing, but I do know that the falafel from St. Pita’s looks uh-maazing. The saintly sauce sounds like something I’d love!

    My favorite cupcake flavor is banana with cream cheese frosting!

  2. Omg omg omg omg I Looooovee this!! Food trucks are my favorite! I want one of my own soooo bad!! Portland is the only city I have been to with food trucks like this all over the place!

  3. I tried a Lovebaked strawberry cupcake and let me just say it was devine……and it was only $2 during happy hour. And the girlie put my cupcakes in a cute pink box. Love Lovebaked

Leave a Reply

