A Hectic Weekend

Hey ya’ll! This weekend is a little bit crazy for me. I am currently in the process of moving apartments. While I’m only moving a little ways down from where I live now, I still have accumulated a ton of junk. I’m not sure where it all came from because my current room is a small little hamster cage. Also this next week is my last week of summer school! So excited. I need a mental break. Even through all this stress, I had a pretty good saturday.

I woke up that morning and decided to have chocolate covered strawberry oats. They were pretty delicious and filling. That is one of the good things about oatmeal. It is filled with tons of fiber, so it keeps you full longer than other breakfast options like cold cereal. I couldn’t find the chocolate chips, so I sliced up a Hershey kiss instead.

Chocolate Covered Strawberry Oats
1/2 c. old fashioned oats
1 1/2 c. water
1 packet of 20 calorie hot cocoa mix
1 c. sliced strawberries
handful of chocolate chips (I sliced up a Hershey kiss)
1 tsp vanilla
1 packet of stevia

1. Pour oatmeal and water into a microwaveable safe dish and heat for 2 minutes and 55 seconds.
2. Once cooked, add in vanilla and stevia.
3. Then place in cocoa mix, stirring well so that all of the oatmeal is chocolate.
4. Add in strawberries and chocolate chips, mix well.
5. If you want, add a little more for on top.

I was the first one up in my house (I was at my mom’s), and I ate this while I waited for everyone to wake up, so we could do some errands. Then my mom woke up, and we watched Serena’s Wimbledon match. It was pretty intense, but good thing she won. Next we ran some errands, and I found sound pretty great things.
Yes, I found Harry Potter in Hebrew at the library down the street from my mom’s. I was there returning some books, paying some fines, and I found this wonderful gem in the teen section. I guess it is because I live in a Jewish neighborhood, but I laughed and snapped a pic with my iPhone.

After all my errands, I ended up meeting my dad at the Whole Foods downtown in Austin. This is the greatest Whole Foods in the entire world. I’m not kidding. Since Austin is Whole Foods Headquarters, we have one of the greatest ones. We decided to sit at the fish station for a healthy and nutritious meal – since I’m pescatarian.

For my appetizer, I had a blackened tilapia taco. It was probably one of the best fish tacos I have had. The fish was crispy and flaky, the taco shell was crunchy, and the aioli sauce that topped it was spicy and rich. It was the perfect way to start the meal.

For my entree, I had scallops. They were placed over a bed of quinoa, kale, and roasted tomatoes. This was the first time I’ve ever had kale, and now I’m going to go out and buy a ton of it to eat. The kale was cooked in a bit of olive oil, which gave a nice flavor to the dish. The roasted tomatoes were great when I would put them on top of the scallop. Only sad thing was that I wish they placed more scallops on it. I love me some scallops. The even gave us a free square of chocolate because they gave us the wrong plates.

Of course I couldn’t go to Whole Foods and not buy anything. I was excited because they had a few products that I have seriously been searching for forever. The almond coconut milk was one of those things, and the pineapple upside down larabar was the other. Some other items I got to try were Justin’s vanilla almond butter, chocolate chip cherry torte larabar, halo nutty marshmallow bar, and dr. praeger’s littles broccoli (they are for kids, I thought they were cute). Some of my old favorites are Artic Zero cookies n cream, some rice noodles (I’m gonna be making spring rolls soon), and some puff cereal. I would have raided whole foods, but not on my wallet.

This is currently my apartment. The living room is piled with junk that I have to move into my car and then into my new apartment. Did I mention I live on the third story right now? It is an evil workout.

Since pretty much everything is packed, I decided to go to Which Wich for a salad. I got the Hula, which is ham and pineapple. It was pretty awesome. I got tomatoes, pickles, onions, banana peppers, mushrooms and black olives on top of it. This is a place I am definitely going to have to frequent in the fall. They probably will get to know me and better give me discounts. A girl can hope!

I hope everyone has a fantastic Sunday. I’ll be sweating buckets while I move all my junk.

Have you ever been to Which Wich?
Where is the best Whole Foods you have ever been to?

4 thoughts on “A Hectic Weekend

  1. I swear each WF I go to is better than the last, prob because each time is a new adventure! That HP book is awesome!!! Oh and this recipe..DROOL! I WANT THOSE LITTLE KIDS DR.PRaeger’s!

  2. Pingback: High Five Friday #21 | A Dash Of Meg

Leave a Reply

