Snow in the Summer

Hey ya’ll! My last week of school is half over. I’m so excited that I have survived. I may not be surviving this heat though. In Texas, it has ranged from 104-106 almost every day. Even though I’ve lived here most of my life, I am definitely not used to it. In order to deal with this awful heat, I decided to sample all of the amazing New Orleans style snowcone spots in Austin. This list includes Sweet Caroline’s, Casey’s, and Ice Queens. Let it snow, let it snow, let it snow.

First up is Sweet Caroline’s. There are multiple locations all around Austin, which is really nice because sometimes it is a hassle to trek all the way out to East Austin for a snowcone. Luckily for me, there is one down the street from where my mom lives. My mom and I decided to head over here one afternoon because I was craving a snowcone.

My mom got the Hawaiian wedding (one of the special flavors at Sweet Caroline’s). It was blue coconut, wedding cake, coconut, and it was topped of with cream. Cream makes everything better in my mind. I really enjoyed this combination of flavors though.

You remember from a few posts ago that I got the Hulk: Grape, Green Apple, and Pineapple. It was delicious. Not to mention that there were nerds all in the middle of the snowcone. Yes, I said nerds!
Hello wonderful sweet candy that is hidden in my snowball. I loved it. That is probably my favorite part about Sweet Caroline’s. They have crazy flavor combinations. The Hulk was just one of many. They had mixed flavors with gummy bears, a keep Austin weird flavor, a sweet Caroline’s flavor (strawberry and cream), and so many more. While I love the creative flavors, I probably will only go here because of convenience. It isn’t my favorite snowcone location.

Next up on the snowcone adventure was Casey’s New Orleans Snowballs. This has been a family favorite for many years. Like Sweet Caroline’s, they have their own special flavors that range from Strawberry Cheesecake to Boston Creme Pie. There is only one location in Austin, you have to use cash, and I’m not gonna lie but it looks super sketchy.

I decided on the grapefruit snowcone. It has a tart, but sweet flavor. Unlike my family members, I always opt to get a fruit flavor at Casey’s because they are so tasty and sweet. If you do not want to overload your sweet tooth, go with a Pineapple, Mango, or Grapefruit snowcone.

My brother got the Boston Creme Pie snowcone. I’m not gonna lie because this is always delicious. It has a couple of syrups and is then topped with cream. For so many years, this snowcone has been superior in my family and I’s eyes. The rich creaminess mixed with chocolate is the perfect treat for a hot summer’s day.

The last snowcone stand on the list is Ice Queens. I have been wanting to go here forever. No one would go with me. Oh it is in East Austin, we don’t want to drive out there or oh I’m full I can’t eat a snowcone right now. Well yesterday after my doctor’s appointment, I convinced my brother to go with me. Unfortunately, we decided to go at the worst time ever. It was 5 o clock traffic. It was totally worth it though. We pulled up to this lot behind a building and there was a red trailer waiting for us.

Yes, this is greatness in a cup. I got kingcake topped with condensed cream. When I was deciding what type of cream to get on top of it, the woman in the trailer was like do you want to eat something that tastes like a glazed donut? Well yes I do. That is exactly what it tasted like too. It was amazing. I was sold. This is now my favorite snowcone stand in Austin. I will drive out here just to have this sweet taste again.

My brother got apple pie topped with caramel. Oh man oh man was this perfect. It had like an apple cider spice taste and mixed with the caramel it was the perfect combination of tart and sweet. He was in heaven. Even though he wanted to kill me for making him go during the traffic, he was happy in the end.

Also Ice Queens gives punch cards. I love getting free things. Once we get 9 snowcones (this definitely won’t be hard to do), we get the 10th one free. I’m thinking of going this weekend already. I miss it so much. Besides rewards, the flavor list is AMAZING: cupcake, cake batter, apple pie, egg custard, pumpkin pie, and organic flavors. If you are ever in Austin during the summer, you must go here.

What would your dream flavor of a snowcone be?
Have you ever driven far for something to eat?

2 thoughts on “Snow in the Summer

Leave a Reply

