Leaf (A Restaurant Review)

This week I had the pleasure of going to lunch with my grandparents and dad at one of my favorite places in Austin: Leaf. Leaf only serves salad and soup, which I think is great because when you want to be healthy it is a good choice for a lunch break. It is a build your own salad place and they have a menu called the Big 12 with their salad creations on it. I always choose the build your own salad.

The place is pretty small, but the atmosphere is awesome. You get to choose what type of lettuce base you want, you get 6 toppings (you can get more for extra), a dressing (theirs are amazing and really creative), and a type of protein. The staff are very eclectic too, which makes the whole experience better.

For my salad, I choose baby spinach leaves as my base for the salad. Then I had a strawberries, mandarin oranges, edamame, walnuts, red onions, cranberries, and avocado slices in my salad. For the dressing I chose to go with a strawberry balsamic vinaigrette, and for my protein I went with tofu. Usually I’m sketched out by tofu at times when I’m not the one cooking it, but this tofu was actually pretty amazing.

This salad was HUGE. I hate when people complain about others that love salads because they can actually be really filling and delicious when you fill it with tons of goods. I wasn’t overfull after the meal, but I was satisfied which is the perfect thing to be after you eat a meal out. I hate that feeling when you eat too much and you want to puke. I’ve had to learn how to limit myself over the years because it makes me sick when I eat too much. Although I still have this problem when I eat dim sum or Tomo Sushi (not that I’m complaining though because that is amaaaazing).

If you are ever in Austin you should definitely go to Leaf for a light lunch. Also it is on 2nd street, which is a great place to walk around and look at little boutiques. There is even an Urban Outfitters, which is less crowded since it is downtown.

Hope everyone has an amazing Friday!

Leave a Reply

