WIAW (just your average party)

Hey ya’ll! Today I’m flying back home to Austin, so I’m super depressed. Luckily today is my favorite holiday, What I Ate Wednesday, so thanks to Jenn I’m not as sad. These eats are pre-Boston trip because every day starting tomorrow I’m going to recap my trip and share a few awesome things about Boston.

Chocolate Berry Oats are definitely the way to go in the morning. This is like fiber overload, but in a good way. Tons of fruit, raspberries and blueberries, plus gluten free oats equals one happy tummy. Plus piling on all of the chocolate chips makes it better too.

So when I went to Trader Joes a while back, I ended up getting these frozen salmon burgers. Oh how great they are! I decided to pan fry mine and then cut it up to put on top of a salad. My salad was spinach leaves, onions, tomatoes, shredded carrots, salmon burger, and guacamole. I think guac makes almost everything better.

Kim’s magic pops are the best snack. It is like practically no calories, so you can top it with tons of goodness. I put dark chocolate syrup on mine with whip cream and tons of halloween themed sprinkles. This is a sweet treat for little amount of calories. Definitely winning with this snack choice.

Peaches are definitely one of my favorite parts of summer. They are so juicy and delicious. These peaches were no exception. The perfect snack when refrigerated.

So I was actually stir frying some vegetables to put in a pita with hummus, but then I discovered that our pitas had been covered with mold. Freak out. I had no idea what to do for dinner. However I looked in the cupboard and found some leftover whole wheat pasta. An instant dish thrown together. It was actually pretty delicious too and filling since the good amount of fiber in the whole wheat pasta.

This is my new favorite snack: A baked apple. Pretty much you cut up an apple into tiny slices, add about 1 tbsp of brown sugar, a dash or two of cinnamon, and then cover it with plastic wrap. You place it in the microwave for 3 minutes and 50 seconds, and then be careful when you pull the plastic back because the steam can burn you.

I top mine off with tons of whipcream. It is amazing because the coolness of the whipcream tastes good against the heat of the apple. Plus the syrup from the brown sugar adds a nice texture to the softened apples.

Happy WIAW!

 

 

6 thoughts on “WIAW (just your average party)

Leave a Reply

