Arriving Home (Boston Day 1)

Hey ya’ll! I have finally returned back to Austin after a long day of flying and crazy people pushing, shoving at the airport. It is time for the Boston trip recap. I’m sort of ambivalent right now because I really miss Boston, but I’m excited for school to start so I can finish my 5th year and graduate onto bigger and better things.

When I landed in Boston, since I’m a local and all (yes I only lived there two years, but that city became a huge part of me), I decided to take the subway to my best friends apartment. Of course I missed the bus about 4 times before I finally was able to carry my huge suitcase. My best friend, Carrianne, had just gotten off work and I was meeting her and her boyfriend at her apartment. We chilled for a while, finally caught up with each other (she had been in India and China for a semester), and decided what to get for dinner. We chose to get Thai food, and headed over to Dok Bua in Brookline on Harvard Street.

This place is crazy. They have like a gigantic menu with tons and tons of pictures. I was already in heaven since I love looking at pictures of food (food blogger trait? I think so). Apparently, after the fact that I ate here, my dad emailed me a zagats list of the best 5 Thai places in Boston, and Dok Bua was on the list. Success. It took me forever to figure out what I wanted since the menu was so large.

I settled on Pla-Muk-Tod for an appetizer. This is deep fried calamari with a sweet sauce. Oh my oh my. This was some of the best calamari I have ever head. The batter that it was fried in was crispy, but still had this airy texture that was light. The sweet sauce accompanying the dish was perfect. It wasn’t too sweet, and had a subtle hint of a variety of thai flavors. I liked dipping everything in it.

For my main dish, I went pretty simple and just got pad Thai. It came with tons of vegetables, which was perfect because I needed some after a long flight of eating nothing but a sandwich of peanut butter and jelly. The meal was really filling, but not too bad since I didn’t feel stuffed, which is definitely one of the worst feelings ever. After dinner, we walked back to the apartment, watched some TV, and headed to bed early since Carrianne had work and I was exhausted from flying and getting up at like 7 am (I know I should get used to it since school starts on Monday).

Do you eat a lot of Thai?
What is your favorite Thai dish?

Leave a Reply

