Bahhston Day 2

Hey ya’ll! Hope everyone has been having a great Friday. Mine has been pretty relaxing. I’ve been reading books, watching some movies, and I’m going out with my younger brother tonight to the UT volleyball game and to dinner (which has yet to be determined). Anyways, let me get back to my trip to Boston.

Friday morning I woke up, and decided to go on a little adventure while Carrianne was at work doing her thing at the Children’s Hospital. I wondered over to Newbury street, which has some of the greatest shopping and has a cute Boston feel to it with the brick buildings alongside both sides of the street.

As I was walking around looking at the shops, I stumbled upon Georgetown Cupcakes. The shop has been made famous by the TV show on TLC following the two sisters that own the company. My stomach was growling, and I wanted to see if the hype about the cupcakes was actually true.

They had tons of cupcakes on display and for sale inside the store. I got to see all this once I waited in line OUTSIDE for about 10 minutes. Apparently the shop was too crowded for people to go in, but really there were just a bunch of annoying girls standing in the way. When I finally got in, I had a hard time choosing what to eat, but I decided to have a gluten free cupcake since I wanted to be nice on my stomach. It was a gluten free lava fudge cupcake (picture will come later when I do a Boston Cupcake review post), and let me tell you it was actually pretty delicious. I went on my merry way with my cupcake and cup of fat free milk.

I was trying to hold off on buying anything because I had promised Carrianne that we would go shopping over the weekend since we both had come into some money. However, I stepped in the Steve Madden store and couldn’t resist (I have a problem with SM because their shoes are amazing). I ended up having to order a pair of boots to be shipped because they had run out of 10. If these shoes go on sale, I’m definitely going to get the tan ones too. They are that fabulous.

After a few more hours of strolling around Boston, Carrianne had texted me that she was walking home from work and wanted to meet at Dunkin Donuts. However, I was going at tortoise pace, so I just met her back at the apartment. Then it was time for dinner.

We went to Fish Market. It is seriously probably one of the best sushi places in Boston. It was quite a trek from Carrianne’s, and I wore uncomfortable shoes. Bad decision. I guess I forgot that we don’t live down the street anymore (oh how I miss that). We were supposed to meet one of our old roommates there, but she ended up not being able to come. Her loss because the food was AMAZING.

For an appetizer, I had Agi Dashi Tofu. It is a fried tofu served in a light shoyu broth with scallions. Oh man. This was a great way to start off the meal. The tofu was perfectly fried, and it was silken tofu so it fell apart when you bit into it. The broth was light, and the dish wasn’t filling at all, so I had room for a ton of sushi rolls.

For my first round, I had a Shiitake Mushroom Tempura Maki roll. There were only 4 pieces, which I was sad about, but the fried mushrooms in the roll were so good that I forgot about how small it was. The brown thing on the right is a fried tofu wrapper and the one of the top left is sweet egg omelet. My mind was blown with the tofu wrapper sushi. I didn’t know what to expect, but I thought I would try it since it is vegetarian friendly. Oh god I could have probably eaten like ten more of those, but I didn’t have time to stay at the restaurant all night.

My last roll was the Salmon Skin roll. It is salmon skin, bonito flakes, cream cheese, and cucumber. This is one of my favorite rolls at Fish Market because it tastes like bacon. Now that I don’t eat meat, except fish, this is the closest thing I will get to eating actual meat. Oh man. The crispiness of the salmon skin meshes perfectly with the smooth texture of the cream cheese. Definitely order this if you ever go here!

After dinner, we had to hurry back to the apartment because I needed to change because I was going out to a concert. My friend, David, had texted me asking me if I wanted to go with him and a few of his friends to some electronic show, so I decided why not. The artist we were going to see was Viceroy, so I put on my best raging outfit: high wasted white shorts, a see through lace black top, and a black bandeau.

This is David, and this photo is actually pretty old. The only photo I took of us this weekend is for another post much later on. He is pretty great. Anyways I met him and his friends at his old frat house over in Cambridge (Yeah, he went to MIT), and we headed over to the concert. One of the other groups was still performing when we got there, so we waited until the real party started. After the concert, we went back to his place and played Mario Kart for a while. Apparently I now suck at Mario Kart. Oh well, it was still really fun and I did get 1st once. Go me.

Hope everyone has a great Friday night! I’ll be back tomorrow with some more Boston fun.

Do you like Electronic Music?
If so, what is your favorite artist?

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

