I Love Beantown (Boston Day 3)

Hey ya’ll! Hope everyone has been having a fantastic weekend. Last night was great (I’ll do a recap on that later), but today I’m going with two of my volleyball players to the UT volleyball game today. I’m super excited. Back to Boston.

Since I went to the concert the night before, I ended up taking a nap for about four hours at Carrianne’s. Once I recovered from the concert, we decided to head over to Harvard Square. I was excited to go shopping, plus the weather was pretty nice outside – about low 70s.

We were walking around Harvard Square, looking for this shop we used to go to that sells bento boxes, and I saw this lovely sign. My brother and I love totoro. It is literally one of the greatest movies of all time (yes, I can be an anime dork sometimes). I had to get a picture of this sign for my brother, but when we realized the bento box store was closed, we headed into this place to see if they had any.

This store had some pretty funny stuff in it. I loved all the ridiculous Totoro stuff. They had tons of stuffed animals, key chains, posters, and bento boxes. The guy that worked there even invited me to a film festival going on near Harvard for all the movies of Hayao Miyazaki. Unfortunately it was a few days after I left Boston, so I wasn’t able to go.

We were walking around, and decided to go get cupcakes. I love cupcakes, so I was super stoked. Sweet is one of Boston’s better cupcake places. We both got cupcakes, and Carrianne’s boyfriend met us there with a friend of his. Afterwards we ended up going shopping at Urban Outfitters and a few other boutiques.

For dinner we decided to go to Wagamama, which was located on JFK st over near Harvard. We were craving some Asian noodles, so this was the perfect place to go. We sat at the table at the window facing the street. It was a nice day to people watch and eat.

I ordered the Yasai Yaki Soba, which was teppan-fried whole wheat noodles with egg, bean sprouts, peppers, white onions and scallions, mushrooms and garlic. It was garnished with fried shallots, pickled ginger, sesame seeds, and cilantro vinegar. I decided to add on some tofu for protein. The tofu was perfect fried and brought a nice addition to the meal. It was a pretty good meal, and I was full.

Carrianne ordered the chili ramen. It was noodles in a spicy broth topped with tofu, chilies, red onion, beansprouts, cilantro, scallion, and a lime of wedge. Her dish was HUGE. She couldn’t even finish it all. It looked really delicious. I totally would have eaten some, but because the broth was chicken and pork I wasn’t able to. Oh the problems of being a vegetarian.

I hope everyone has a fantastic saturday. I’m going to enjoy some volleyball and 8 calorie frozen yogurt. Oh yes, I said 8 calories per oz.

Have you ever heard of Totoro?
What is your favorite anime character?

Leave a Reply

