The Cupcakes Of Boston

Hey ya’ll! Hope everyone had a fantastic weekend. Mine was pretty awesome since I got to spend it with friends, family, and watching the UT volleyball tournament. We obviously dominated since we are no 2 in the nation. Last nights match was probably the most intense since it was against the no 19 team. We pulled through though. For today’s Boston post, I thought I would do a recap on the cupcakes of Boston.

First up on the list is Georgetown cupcakes, which is located on Newbury street. They had a ton of flavors, but I decided on a gluten free lava fudge cupcake. I have to say that this cupcake was actually pretty good for being gluten free. It wasn’t the best cupcake I have ever had, but the price was good (2.75) and there was a fudgey surprise in the middle. One of my complaints is the lack of creativity in flavors. They had about 5 variations of chocolate and 5 variations of vanilla. I was confused why someone needs that many types of plain flavors. Georgetown would definitely be higher on my list if they had more creative flavors.

The second place we went to for cupcakes was Sweet. I ordered the Pina Colada flavor, which was one of the summer specials. It was a sweet vanilla bean cake with a shot of pineapple preserves and topped with coconut infused buttercream. Oh my god. How I love Sweet’s buttercream. It is probably one of the most amazing icings I’ve ever had in my life. I love that they have tons of seasonal flavors each month too. The cupcake is so moist, and when you hit the pineapple preserves its a sweet little surprise.

Carrianne decided to get a summer flavor too. She ordered the Lemon Blueberry flavor, which was new even for the summer flavors. It was a lemon juice infused cake with blueberries baked in it, and it was topped with a vanilla bean buttercream that was infused with blueberry puree. She was in heaven, and so was I because she let me have a bite. These cupcakes are amazing and you will never be let down by sweet. If you are ever in Boston, you must go here. There are tons of locations all over the city!

The third cupcake stop was Cakeology. This shop was made famous from Cupcake Wars on the TLC channel. I was super stoked that they had finally opened a store front, and that I would be able to sample the cupcakes from TV. Oh how I was disappointed. I ordered mini versions of German chocolate, mint chocolate, and Boston Cream Pie. The Boston cream pie lacked the cream flavor, the mint was overpowering, and the German chocolate was lacking that coconut flavor and it was just pure chocolate. The only thing I really liked was that all the flavors came in mini versions, so you didn’t have to be a pig.

Then I experienced the holy grail of cupcakes. Okay, I’m lying because I’ve actually been to Crumbs before, but their cupcakes are so superior that it doesn’t matter. These are hands down the best cupcakes that I have ever had in m entire life. The first one we split was Monkey Business. It was a moist banana cake with a nutella core and topped with a nutella buttercream rolled in nuts and drizzled with caramel. OH MY. This cupcake was mind blowing. The cupcake was so moist and the buttercream was to die for. If it wasn’t in the financial district, I would have gone here every day.

The second cupcake that we split was the chocolate sundae cupcake. Oh man was this one good too. It was a chocolate cake filled with vanilla buttercream frosting topped with vanilla cream cheese frosting drizzled with chocolate ganache, sprinkles, chopped peanuts, and a cherry. This cupcake was splendid. It was a fancy version of a chocolate cupcake with much better flavors than just a plain old one. I loved the combination of the cream cheese on top with the vanilla buttercream in the middle. It was splendid. You must go to Crumbs cupcakes if you can. You will not regret it.

The final stop on the cupcake adventure was Party Favors. Since going to college in Boston, I’ve been wanting to try this place forever. It had rave reviews on Yelp, plus the BU online blog did a review on party favors saying that it was the greatest cupcake in Boston. I went in, ordered the Boston Cream Pie cupcake, and went on my merry way. While the cream inside the cupcake was PERFECT and the chocolate ganache was extremely rich, I wasn’t as thrilled as the people who did reviews. I thought it was good, but in my mind Crumbs is far superior to all.

Hope ya’ll enjoyed my sweet adventure because I know I did!

Where is your favorite place to get cupcakes?
What is your favorite cupcake flavor?

2 thoughts on “The Cupcakes Of Boston

  1. YES, oh how i have awaited this post. And I think it might actually be a godo thing that Crumbs is so far away, because otherwise I would be eating it all day every day. You’re exactly right: The holy grail of Boston cupcakes. MMMMMM

Leave a Reply

