What I Ate Wednesday

Man, oh man. It is time for another What I ate Wednesday post thanks to the amazing Jenn over at Peas & Crayons. This has been a crazy week for me. I finally have started back in school. FINAL YEAR. Yes, this will be my second senior year. I’m just glad I still have more time to figure out things for my post-undergraduate life such as, finally deciding to get my masters in sports nutrition, where I’m going to apply for grad school and RD internship, and random goals for myself. Blah blah blah. Okay, I’ll get to the food pictures.

I am back to enjoying pancakes in the morning! Lately I’ve been trying to eat completely gluten free (Obviously someone didn’t get the memo while in Boston), so when I found out that Bisquick has made a gluten free pancake and waffle mix I grabbed it off the shelves to sample. It is actually pretty good. Being typical Lindsay, I have to spice it up by making creative pancakes, so I threw in some pumpkin, chocolate chips, and banana slices to complete the meal. Only 1/3 c of the powder makes about 5-6 pancakes, so it is pretty impressive and low calorie.

How that I’m back in school, I have to start planning my meals and packing my lunch ahead of time. On Tuesdays, I have class from 9:30 am to 7:30 pm. It is definitely going to be a long day on Tuesdays, but with packing a healthy filling lunch I know I will be able to get through it all.

For my Tuesday lunch this week, I had a tofu stir fry with broccoli, peppers, carrots, mushrooms, and water chestnuts. It was all served on top of brown rice. For a side I had a sliced granny smith apple. This meal definitely held me over until I finished Advanced Food Science and headed back to my apartment.

For snack I’ve been munching on these amazingly low calorie sugar free chocolate pumpkin muffins. I will definitely be sharing the recipe in the next week are so, but these things are DELICIOUS. I like to heat mine up in the microwave for about 20 seconds, and it tastes like it just came out of the oven.

I seriously love my roommate. She is such a great person and has a heart of gold. She made some salad (she makes yummy healthy food all the time), and shared some with me. It had spinach leaves, little organic blueberries, pine nuts, and some other things I can’t remember. It was really good and just makes me love her even more that she appreciates healthy food and nutrition.

I’m trying to clean out my pantry right now, so I can make room for a Whole Foods and Central Market run this weekend. That means that I am eating a lot of whole wheat pasta. Oh that isn’t gluten-free. My stomach isn’t a fan, but I just keep telling myself “Whole Foods, Whole Foods, I’m doing it for Whole Foods”. I mix in a little broccoli, garlic, and sometimes some tomato sauce (just not in this picture). Due to the fiber in the pasta and the broccoli, I’m pretty full for a while.

Night Time snack 1: Some cinnamon roll pudding with gluten free chocolate chips, banana slices, and a ripped up chocolate pumpkin muffin. Oh man this sweet treat is definitely the way to go when you are trying to satisfy that late night sweet tooth. This snack has actually inspired me to make some epic desserts in the near future, so stay tuned for a good recipe in the next week or so.

Night Snack 2: Yes, I get the munchies at night time and need to eat like everything. This snack is a Oikos strawberry greek yogurt, 20 calorie cocoa powder, gluten free chocolate chips, and strawberry slices. Seeing a trend here? I like chocolate and pudding like things. This snack is really good. I was hesitant about adding the cocoa powder, but I saw it on another blog somewhere and wanted to try it. It was like a chocolate covered strawberry. You could taste both flavors.

Since school is back in session, I will now be sharing some fashion with ya’ll. I love clothing, so this is a fun outlet for me. I’m wearing a strapless polka dot dress from Shop 344, a black cardigan from Nordstroms, and a necklace & belt from Forever 21. I forgot to show my shoes, which were slightly wedged black glitter gladiator sandals from Steve Madden.

Hope everyone has had a fantastic week so far and Happy Humpday!

Do you pack your lunch for school or work?
What kind of things do you put in it?

6 thoughts on “What I Ate Wednesday

  1. The chocolate and strawberries looks really yummy. I should start packing better lunches for my husband. Most of the time he has a homemade whole wheat bread sandwich with Justin’s Maple Almond Butter and homemade raspberry pear jam. It is a delicious sandwich, but I think your divided containers sound like a better idea.

Leave a Reply

