WIAW (I’m Back)

Hey ya’ll! Sorry I’ve been MIA from the blogging world. Lets just say I have a knack of misplacing things in my room and stuff. For the past week and a half, I haven’t been able to find my camera charger. Uh oh. That means no new photos for the blog since they have all been hanging out on my camera. Thankfully when I was home this past weekend, I found my charger in my backpack that I took to Boston. My bad. So now I’m back and just in time for my favorite day of the week: What I Ate Wednesday. Thanks to Jenn for hosting my favorite day of the week!

Hello to a breakfast of champions. Sometimes when I go grocery shopping I eyeball certain things, like these Vans lite waffles, and debate if I really need them. I then come up with amazing breakfasts like this one to justify why I really need to buy these. Heck plus they were on sale, so it was calling to my Jewish nature.

This lovely creation was two Vans lite waffles, a sliced banana, strawberry slices, fat free vanilla yogurt, and a sprinkle of chocolate chips.The only thing I thought was missing was some dark chocolate sauce. Oh well, I definitely will be putting that on top next time. This was the perfect breakfast and it held me over through the morning until I ate my lunch after back to back classes.

Smoothies are one of the best snacks out there. You can totally customize them to your preferences and they are very filling if you put lots of fiber, like I do, in them. Mine was a chocolate pineapple smoothie topped with some fat free whip cream and dark chocolate sauce (I love my dark chocolate – who doesn’t).

My mom and I went on a little shopping spree the other weekend, and ended up at godiva because a couple of new flavors were out. We ended up getting an 8 piece box of chocolates – total score in my mind. The flavors are birthday cake, chocolate chip cookie dough, pumpkin cheesecake, pumpkin spice, walnut brownie, and pineapple hummingbird. So far the birthday cake is my favorite. I pretty much love anything birthday cake flavored, so throw it in a chocolate and I’m yours.

Since I have class literally all day pretty much, I have been needing to pack lunches that fit into my backpack and are easy to eat throughout the day. This means tons of salads. For this day in particular, I had a hamburger salad. I did meatless crumbles, shredded lettuce, sliced red onion, sliced pickles, mushrooms, and it was topped with mustard. Oh man. This was actually really good. I was impressed. Especially because I threw this right together before I had to go to class. Skills.

My mom and I are obsessed with Halibut. When we were at Central Market we saw some fresh fillets of halibut that were really thick, so we decided to get it and make fish tacos with. We were originally going to marinate it in some hatch chile soy sauce, but my mom realized that she had thrown it away. We ended up just tossing some olive oil, salt, and pepper on them.

The fish turned out amazing. It was flaky to perfection. We just ended up throwing them on some corn tortillas that we also got at Central Market, and topped them with diced onions and tomatoes. This was the perfect dinner.

Froyo is always the best night cap in my mind. You can’t get anything better than some low calorie frozen yogurt with amazing toppings. Definitely will have to do a review of the local froyo places in San Marcos sometime soon – I won’t complain about that!

Hope everyone has an amazing Wednesday! I’m dying because I just had my intermediate volleyball class, and I swear all we do is run instead of actually play volleyball. I’m ready to play!

Leave a Reply

