A Birthday Celebration

Hey ya’ll! Sorry I’ve been gone for a while. School has been crazy. Anyways I’m back for good now and I’m here to share a review of one of my favorite places in Austin: Perry’s Steakhouse. Thankfully they serve fish otherwise I would have just been able to eat the side dish vegetables.

Perry’s is located on 7th street in downtown Austin, so it has a swanky feel. This is normally a place I would not go on my own except for maybe a happy hour. It is fancy and expensive. The food is amazing though. We went Saturday night to celebrate my Grandmother’s birthday and it was quite the occasion.

My grandparents decided to order appetizers for the table, which I was happy with since most of us have the same taste in food. One dish that was ordered is tuna tartare. I love myself some raw fish, so when this came out I was so excited. It is an asian flavored tartare, so it has a ginger sesame hint to it. The chips were really delicious too.

One of the other appetizers we ordered were the crab cakes. Definitely my favorite appetizer of all of the ones we ordered. It was fried on the outside, and the jumbo lump crab was so fresh and juicy on the inside when you bit into it. I could have eaten a few of these as my entree.

Sorry the picture is dark. The only lights in the restaurant were candles and some dimly lit lights way above us. The other appetizer we ordered was calamari. It was pretty spicy and filled with jalapenos. It was good.

Champagne showers. I love a good glass or bottle or two bottles of champagne. We had a toast in honor of my grandmother’s birthday. I was pretty much in heaven. I was sad that we only got one glass because I definitely could have had more.

For my entree I had a pecan crusted red snapper served with broccolini on the side and topped with jumbo lump crab meat. The crab meat was amazing, but the fish was just okay. I wish I would have ordered what one of my cousin’s got. It was lobster mac and cheese. She let me have a bite and it was mind blowing.

This was the best part of the meal. Rocky road bread pudding. The bread pudding was swirled with chocolate, filled with nuts, and a huge marshmallow topped the bread pudding. OH GOD. Seriously I would go just to eat it.

Nom. Nom. Nom.

I hope you all have had a fantastic weekend.

Leave a Reply

