Life as a Dietetics Student

Hey ya’ll! Today I’m going to post a new addition to the blog: Life as a Dietetics student. I will show ya’ll what my daily life is like as a nutrition student, what sort of things you need to do to get a dietetic internship, and other random dietetic major tidbits. For today, I’m going to focus on a fun project we are doing in my advanced food science class. Advanced Food Science is a class that focuses more specifically on the science of food with a heavy impact on biochemistry, organic chemistry, and biology.  We had to keep a food diary for one week following a limited processed foods diet. I thought this was excellent for health reasons and just for fun.

My epic food journal. I’ve actually almost lost it multiple times during the week while recording my food because it is just a stapled together thing of paper. I also have random food stains on it because I was eating and recording at the same time. I probably should have waited till after I was done eating, but oh well I’m proactive.

At first I was freaking out because I was like oh god this is going to be so awful, but then I realized I actually do not eat that much of processed foods. Once I came to that realization, things were much easier. When we ate something we had to record whether it was not processed, slightly processed or processed. Take my oatmeal for instance, it is slightly processed because the oats were run through a factory, but are out of a bin from the health store.

When I went to the grocery store for the week, I mainly focused on not buying anything that was in packages. When I got home I realized that I only really bought whole foods, so I was going to have to get creative when it came to dishes. The dish above is my version of a mashed potato, but with cauliflower instead. Some of it is processed, but it is way healthier than eating something like a microwave meal because it provides me with tons of nutrients and health benefits.

This was a delicious snack I had. I made this yogurt combination with vanilla yogurt, a mashed banana, some brown sugar, cinnamon, and a splash of vanilla extract. It was so good and I used a grannysmith apple to dip in it. I’ve been making this yogurt combo a lot since I started making it for the assignment. Definitely a good low calorie treat to have.

2 thoughts on “Life as a Dietetics Student

  1. I started out as a dietetics student in college! I ended up switching to marketing, but sometimes I wonder what life would be like if I had kept going in that direction!

    That snack you had sounds amazing!

Leave a Reply

