A Foodie Adventure

Hey ya’ll! I hope everyone had an awesome weekend. Mine was pretty good. I went out to celebrate my best friend’s last weekend in Austin (I’m seriously depressed about this since we have been friends since freshmen year of high school). Anyways lets go on to happy thoughts like fun foodie adventures. My family and I love trying out restaurants in Austin, so when my brother suggested that we go to Perla’s on South Congress, we were of course all down to go eat some good food.

The decor of Perla’s is so cute. It has an aquatic theme with a boat atmosphere on the outside (unfortunately not caught in the picture). My brother blended right in with the theme of the restaurant with his blue hair. They were packed full of reservations, but somehow we snuck in a table as long as we were out by 7. No problem.

We decided to order three appetizers for the table to share. One of our first appetizers was mussels. Oh god, they were so good. The mussels were soaked in some kind of sauce with peppers and other chopped up bits of yumminess in the bowl. The toasted bread was perfect to dip deep into the bowl and soak up the liquid. Thumbs up for this dish!

This picture is a little blurry, boooo. Who cares though? This was probably my favorite appetizer of the night. Fried oysters. Really you can’t go wrong with anything fried. They were crispy on the outside and chewy on the inside. The oysters were served with this spicy thick sauce that took it to that special place in food heaven. I would seriously go here just to order about ten plates of these. I couldn’t eat ten plates, but I would so go down trying.

The last appetizer we ordered was a crab cake. It was really good. I liked that the restaurant placed some fresh arugula on top of the cake because it gave it some extra flavoring. I didn’t care for the large amount of onions they placed underneath it, but it was still delicious and the crab cake disappeared within 30 seconds of it being placed on the table.

For my main entree, I ordered the lobster roll with a side of fries. Good choice on my part. The lobster was extremely fresh and mixed with the perfect amount of mayonaisse. The bun was toasted to perfection and had a sweet taste to it. This definitely hit the spot on my lobster roll craving. I have been missing lobster rolls ever since I left Boston in August. The french fries were just okay, but then again I’m not going to a seafood restaurant to focus on their quality of french fries.

We decided to order one side, which was asparagus in Bearnaise sauce. They were actually really good for just a side. The asparagus was grilled and super crispy, which is my favorite way to eat them. Then they weren’t overly drenched in sauce, which I appreciated a lot.

We did end up ordering a dessert, which was a salted caramel pudding with coconut cookies on the side. Somehow I forgot to take a picture. Probably because my camera kept dying. Oh well. It was really delicious anyways. This is definitely going on my recommendation list of restaurants in Austin. If they have happy hour specials then I will definitely be there because those appetizers are so good.

Hope ya’ll have a great Monday!

2 thoughts on “A Foodie Adventure

Leave a Reply

