Seattle on the Mind

Hey ya’ll! I hope everyone had a good Friday. I ended up sleeping about 12 hours, which was much needed. I’m still sort of tired, but there is a Disney movie marathon on ABC family (HECK YES). Not to mention that….

65515_3847089145135_682114429_nMy best friend is back in Austin for the weekend! I’m so happy because I haven’t seen her since October, which was sooo long ago. We are going to be spending a ton of time together in the next few months. She is here this long weekend, I’m going to NYC in februrary, and then we are going to Ultra Music Festival in Miami in March! I love her. Anyways back to more important things like what I’m going to talk about today. More fun things about my trip to Seattle.

DSCN0113We decided to wake up somewhat early (10 am lol) to go get brunch at a place called Portage Bay Cafe. Funny story is that my dad just typed in portage bay into his phone, so we ended up driving to some residential neighborhood in Seattle. After we ended up having a 45 minute wait, we decided to drive around and look at the University of Washington (I wouldn’t mind going there for my masters). It was so beautiful, but then we went back to the restaurant to get our grub on.

DSCN0115Hello to this gorgeous plate. My brother ended up getting the lemon curd french toast for breakfast. When you ordered certain items on the menu, you got to use and abuse their breakfast bar. The bar was filled with various fruits, whipped topping, syrup, brown sugar, and some dried fruit. It was heavenly. The lemon curd was tart and delicious. The added toppings just added to this perfect dish. My brother wanted to burst afterwards.

DSCN0117He also ordered a side of potatoes to share with me. They were perfectly seasoned and crisped to perfection. I’m glad he ordered them because I needed something to go with my meal.

DSCN0114I ended up ordering the steel cut oats. This meant that I got to use the amazing breakfast bar. I topped mine with some brown sugar and fruit. I had strawberries, blueberries, blackberries, some local type of berry, and some raisins. In my mind it was just okay. I personally think I make better oatmeal, but then again how can you really screw up oatmeal. I was trying to eat somewhat healthy, which is why I didn’t choose something else.

DSCN0086This building was so pretty and unique. We ended up going to the EMB musuem, which was dedicated to music. It pretty much only had rock music in it. Obviously not my favorite, but my dad wanted to go so we went along with it.

DSCN0099One of the coolest parts of the museum was that there was this room where you could play various musical instruments and have jam sessions. My brother and I jacked one of the jam rooms, which had a drum set and two types of guitars on it. I definitely rocked out the drums (I had no idea what I was doing) and my brother jammed on the electric guitar. It was hilarious. We then left the room and went to a mixing board. It was kid like fun.

DSCN0093Probably my favorite part of the museum was the leather jacket exhibit. I am a huge fan of leather. Seriously I go no where without my leather coat. It was definitely one of the greatest investment pieces in my wardrobe. Anyways they had the coolest jackets on exhibit there like this one above. I love crazy prints. There were other jackets with studs, jewels, and colors. It was leather jacket heaven.

thFor dinner that night, we ended up going to a place that was on Diners, Drive-ins, and dives. My brother and I were so stoked because it is one of our favorite shows. The place we went for dinner was called Bizarros. It was definitely a bizarre place.

DSCN0118The lighting is a wee bit weird because inside the restaurant the lights were dimmed with an orange hue. Also there were crazy things hanging from the ceiling such as upside down bicycles, a recliner chair, and a window frame. For one of the appetizers, we ordered the mussels. They were so divine. The restaurant is Italian, so they had the classic flavors. My brother and dad ended up using the bread to eat up all the sauce in the bowl too. It was just that good.

DSCN0119My brother has a love for bruschetta, so he ordered that for our second appetizer. I was expecting the classic dish with diced vegetables on top, but oh how I was wrong (in a good way). The perfectly toasted bread was topped with goat cheese, figs, and a delicious honey based sauce. It was a sweet version of the dish. I had died and gone to foodie heaven. No wonder this place was on diners, drive-ins, and dives.

DSCN0125I definitely ordered the best main course. I got the wild mushroom tagilatelle. Oh my, how delicious it was. The mushrooms were cooked perfectly and the creamy sauce went well with the noddles and mushrooms. It was so good that my brother and dad were eating it too along with their dishes. Hungry guys, typical. If you are ever in Seattle, you definitely have to go here. It is so much fun and the staff is extremely friendly!

I hope ya’ll have a good Saturday. I know I will. I’m going on epic adventures with my two best friends. I better go get ready.

Leave a Reply

