Blueberry Donuts (Healthy/Low Cal Recipe)

Hey ya’ll! Hope everyone is having a good Monday. I have been pretty busy today. So far I have run some errands with my mom, got a travel guide for my trip to Spain, did some computer stuff, and now I’m posting on the blog. Later I get to start studying for my biochemical nutrition exam (fun, but not really). I have an awesome recipe for you. I sort of based this off a recipe from Sally’s Baking Addiction, but I did some epic Lindsay changes to it.

DSCN0189Whole Wheat Blueberry Donuts

Ingredients:
1 c of Whole Wheat Flour
6 tbsp Splenda (I may have added an extra two or three to this)
1 tsp baking powder
1/4 c + 2 tbsp of Chobani 0% Blueberry Greek Yogurt
2-3 tbsp milk (I used almond milk)
1 egg
1 tsp vanilla extract
1 tbsp margarine (melted in microwave)
DSCN01941. Preheat the oven to around 315-330 degrees and spray your donut pan with non-stick spray.
2. Mix together all of the dry ingredients (flour, baking powder, and sugar).
3. In a separate bowl, mix the wet ingredients (yogurt, milk, egg, vanilla, and melted butter).
4. Slowly pour the wet mixture into the dry bowl and mix until fully combined. Make sure that you do not stir the mix too much.
5. Pour mixture into donut pan (if too thick, you can add some more milk or yogurt in order to make it more “pastry” like).
6. Bake for 10-12 minutes in the oven.
7. Let cool for a couple of minutes.
DSCN0191
For the topping:
1/2 c of fresh blueberries
1 tbsp blueberry jam
1 tbsp milk (I used almond milk)
1-2 tbsp of confectioners sugar (if you want it to be an icing use 1-2 cups)

1. Mash the blueberries with jam until mainly juice and crushed skin (or use food processor to puree).
2. Add in milk.
3. Slowly add in the sugar until you reach a blue color and the right thickness for your icing (I used little to none because I wanted more of a syrup).

DSCN0188In my opinion, these were more like snack donuts. To make them more breakfast like, I would probably switch to all purpose flour. That doesn’t mean that these aren’t good because I actually thought they were quite delicious. They weren’t overwhelming in the way that donuts normally are. No sick or full stomachs. They weren’t oversweet either. It was a more natural version of a donut in my opinion. I’m definitely going to be messing with this recipe to make some crazy donut concoctions because I am a big fan of breakfast foods (in case you couldn’t tell from my many pancake posts).

Have a good rest of the day! I’ll be studying and finishing up some graduate application stuff. During my breaks I’ll probably be looking up things about Spain (yes, you can all be jealous).

4 thoughts on “Blueberry Donuts (Healthy/Low Cal Recipe)

Leave a Reply

