My True Love

Hey ya’ll! Today’s post is probably more on the foodie aspect rather than the conscious aspect of the blog. I am taking you back to a wonderful place that I have already reviewed once. This is definitely one of my must go to places if you are ever visiting Austin. Hopdoddy burger bar is an Austin staple for me. It has only been open for 2 years, but it is just that amazing. It has taken over the Austin burger scene (obviously there are still other good places, check out Min’s list of burgers in Austin).

Warning: Not all of this food was consumed in one sitting. It was spread out over many visits. This is just a declaration of my love for Hopdoddy!

photoThis may be the best veggie burger in town. It is named the La Bandita (so cute, I know). It is a black bean corn patty with avocado, arugula, cilantro pesto, and chipotle mayo on whole wheat bread. It also comes with goat cheese, but I’m not a fan of overwhelming amounts of goat cheese, so I opted to switch it out for tilamook cheddar. It was a good decision. This burger has some Mexican flavors to it, hence the name of La Bandita. It is amazing. The burger falls apart a little bit because of all the ingredients, but it is easy to eat and extremely delicious for a vegetarian option.

photo(1)Specialty shakes. One of the main reasons why I love Hopdoddy. Their shakes are hand churned and made from fresh ingredients (oh wait, everything is made from farm fresh ingredients there – another reason of love). This beauty is the peppermint patty milkshake that was a wintertime special back in December. Man oh man, it was minty, cool, and creamy. You can’t go wrong with a pink drink (in case you didn’t know pink is my favorite color).

photo(3)Blackboards as menus? Specialty burgers? Colorful chalk? Yes, yes, yes, I love you Hopdoddy. Why are you so cute and creative? I’m not sure, but it keeps me coming back. I just love how they write their specialty items on the chalkboards above the ordering station. Usually they have a burger, some milkshakes, and some adult beverages on the three menus that spread across the top.

photo(4)Of course I’m going to get the specialty burger if it is as awesome as it says it is. My oh my was the Gangham burger delicious. The bulgogi beef was top notch. If you ever see bulgogi beef, GET IT! It was much better than regular beef if I do say so. The kimchi on the bottom of the burger gave it those classic Asian flavors and went well with the beef. Also sriracha mayo? Um yes please. Can I get that in containers by the gallon to put on all my food? I wish because it was one of the best sauces I’ve had (that is saying a lot because Hopdoddy has a crazy amount of sauces to choose from).

photo(2)Shake, shake, shake it up. Another specialty shake please! This one here is the red velvet shake, which is currently the flavor of the month. It has chunks of red velvet cake and cream cheese icing swirled into the shake. Umm YES. It was pretty delicious. So if you are in Austin for South by Southwest or you are visiting, go get this immediately. The special for last month was a thin mint shake with actual thin mint cookies in it. Yes, it was amazing. To be honest, anything with girl scout cookies can’t be bad.

photoMmm a mountain of fries. We usually split a large order of fries between 3-4 people because trust me, you are going to be full from your burger. Their fries are seasoned perfectly and you have a wide selection of sauces to choose. You can also get green chili queso though to dip your fries in! Queso and fries? Yes it is a pretty great combination. Try it and you will be glad that you did.

photo(6)That looks sort of disgusting. Then again usually gross things tend to be the most delicious. This is the Terlingua burger. My current favorite regular menu item. It is made with angus beef, chili con carne (chili with meat for those of you that don’t know your basic Spanish), corn fritos, tilamook cheddar, and sassy sauce. Pretty much a frito pie, but on a burger. Greatest creation ever? I think so.

photo(5)Here is a delicious close up of the wonderful burger. I know it sort of makes me want to puke, but in a good way. Look how toasted and delicious the bun looks! Man I wish I had this in front of me because I would definitely gobble it up. Although I use Saturdays as my day to treat myself. Usually/almost always that includes a trip to Hopdoddy. We tend to go about once a month on the weekend as our family treat since the burgers are a little pricey (specialty burgers run about 10$ while every day menu goes from 7-12$). The burgers are definitely worth it, plus you can split fries with whoever you go with since the portions are huge!

Have a good afternoon! I’m going back to studying about soluble and insoluble fiber, the effects on digestion, and how fiber helps reduce risk of certain diseases (boo biochemical nutrition class). Thank you fiber for being a probiotic (maybe I’ll give ya’ll an educational post about fiber)!

7 thoughts on “My True Love

Leave a Reply

