Bubble Up Pizza

photoYou hear the word bubble up pizza, and you may be a little scared about what that really means. Bubble up pizza is a funny thing for my family because it brings up a lot of memories. My mom and I love this dish, but it does scare my brother because one time when he was home alone it exploded on top of the stove. Trust me, the dish is really good and you will want to make this all the time once you taste the deliciousness it has to offer.

photo(3)Bubble Up Pizza

1 roll of low fat biscuits (10 rolls)
1 c of chopped onion
1 15 oz can of tomato sauce (15 cal for 1/4 c)
1 1/4 c cheese (used 1/2 fat free mozzarella and 1/2 reduced fat)
1/2 c chopped green bell pepper
1 c chopped mushrooms
1 package (20 oz) ultra lean ground turkey
a few dashes of garlic powder

1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

photo(6)2. Brown ground turkey and drain if needed.

3. Stir in onion, tomato sauce, garlic, pepper, and mushrooms. Cook until thoroughly mixed and peppers begin to soften.

photo(5)4. Cut each biscuit into four pieces and then add into the meat mixture (make sure pan is removed from heat).

5. Make sure that the biscuits are thoroughly covered with sauce.

photo(4)6. Pour into a 9×13 baking pan that has been sprayed with pam.

7. Place in the oven for 25 minutes.

8. Remove from oven to add the cheese evenly over the top of the casserole and place back into the oven for 10 minutes or until the cheese has melted.

photo(2)And now you have a bite of delicious food. You can cut the casserole into 8 servings. This is definitely one of the best healthy dishes I’ve had in a long time. That is probably because I haven’t really cooked that much besides my normal staples in a long time, but that is about to change. I’m ready to share more recipes and try out some of my crazy experiments. This recipe was actually different from my family’s old recipe, but I liked to added touches of the green peppers, onions, and mushrooms. I think I am going to have to mess around and add some more vegetables in the mixture next time.

photo(1)I hope you enjoyed the recipe and try it out as soon as possible. You definitely won’t regret it and it is super simple to make. Have an awesome Friday! I hope everyone is out having fun right now and not stuck inside like me working on some biochemical nutrition. The things I do in order to graduate with the highest honors. Go me! Nerding out. Tomorrow I am going to have a food trailer review and I’m going to out to celebrate my grandpa’s birthday. I’m excited for a good meal!

3 thoughts on “Bubble Up Pizza

Leave a Reply

