Sushi Wasted

Hey ya’ll! Sorry I’ve been gone for so long, but I have exciting news. I got accepted to my first graduate program! I got into TWU at Texas Medical Center for a Masters with a thesis in nutrition and exercise physiology (SO EXCITING)! I’ve been crazy busy with my last two weeks of my bachelors degree in nutrition, but I promise I have tons of fun things to share with ya’ll coming up. So what do I have for you today? Sushi Wasted? Whaaaat? Yes, my favorite sushi place in Austin, Roll On Sushi Diner, had an event called Sushi Wasted because they were notifying the world that they are open on Sundays now. It was all you can eat sushi! My brother and I obviously had to go to enjoy this feast!

photoThis was the menu for the night. The best part was that you could eat as much as you wanted off this menu and get a free drink, salad, and miso soup. I’m game. The rule was that you were only allowed to order three things per person at a time, which was really smart because you wouldn’t get overwhelmed with food and it would keep things organized. The only thing that I wish was different was that there were more rolls! This place has the most creative and fresh rolls.

photo(1)This was the salad that came with the meal. It was nothing special, but the dressing was actually really delicious. I wish I found out what it was because I would love to recreate it to use on my own salads. Also eating a salad made you feel like you weren’t about to just gorge on a ton of sushi rolls. I like that small healthy touch (not that sushi is that unhealthy for you – mainly the sauces and use of white rice instead of brown).

photo(2)This was the miso soup and it was pretty delicious. I had never had miso soup before this (I know shocker), so I was surprised that it was so good. It had mushrooms, green onion, and tofu in it. I loved the surprise of tofu. It was a good way to pre-game the feast that we were about to crush.

photo(3)This was the shrimp tempura roll. It was pretty awesome. I have to say that the staff did a pretty fantastic job at making sure that you got everything you ordered. There were only a few slip ups, like the time we got two shrimp tempura rolls. We weren’t complaining though because this roll was tasty. It had tempura fried shrimp, avocado, cucumber, sushi rice, nori, and it was topped with spicy mayo and unagi sauce. The fried shrimp provides a nice crunch when you bite into the roll while you have a spicy flavor coming from the sauces. However the sweetness of the unagi balances it out. We had never had this roll, so it was nice to try it.

photo(4)Hello to one of my new favorite rolls at Roll On. The Red Dragon Roll. It was a simple roll, but it was packed with a ton of flavors. It was a California roll topped with spicy tuna, spicy aioli, unagi sauce, scallions, and Roll on crunch. I would definitely order this again off the normal menu. The tuna that was on top was extremely fresh and added a nice flavor to a average roll.

photo(5)This is probably one of the greatest rolls ever. It is so creative and is full of unique flavors that you would not expect in a sushi roll. It is the Respect My Asparaguh roll, which you have probably seen on my blog a multitude of times. It has asparagus, candied walnuts, goat cheese, sun dried tomato, and it is topped with a balsamic glaze. The goat cheese provides a rich creamy flavor to this amazing roll. Order it immediately, you won’t regret it.

photo(6)This was the chef special roll. I forgot to write down what was in it, but it had some really interesting flavors. It sort of reminded me of typical Mexican flavors. It packed a punch in it. There chef specials change every few weeks, so you probably won’t be able to get this again unless they use it as a special.

photo(7)This was the Hawaiian roll. They did a lot of variations on the California Roll. This one was just topped with tuna. It was nice, but nothing special.

photo(8)Here is yet another variation on the California roll, but called the Sunshine Roll. This one had salmon on top of it. I preferred the one with tuna instead because I have a deep love for tuna, but it was still good. Just not something I would order off the regular menu because I prefer their crazy rolls.

photo(9)Hello, Mr. Grouch roll. It has roasted chicken, green chile, jack cheese, caramelized onion, arugula, and chipotle aioli. Now this is what I’m talking about. Roll On has the most creative rolls I’ve ever seen. They use non-traditional ingredients such as caramelized onions and roasted chicken to create pure food genius such as the Grouch roll. This is definitely on my must always order list at Roll On.

photo(10)This is pure heaven in a roll. Not even kidding. Definitely one of my top 5 rolls in the sushi adventures I’ve experienced in the 23 years that I’ve been alive. This is the Lo-Burn roll. It is shrimp tempura, unagi and jalapenos tempura fried, and topped with spicy aioli, unagi sauce, and scallions. I can’t even come up with the words to describe this roll because it is seriously mindblowing. If you are lucky to ever make it to happy hour, this roll is only about 3.95$. If you live in Austin or close by, definitely check it out and order this.

photo(11)This roll was another crazy one. It was the Rasta roll. It had blackened shrimp, mango, roasted red pepper, scallions, curry, jicama, and cilantro topped with a spicy mayo sauce. I’m not sure this roll completely worked. I think it would be better with the blackened shrimp and a bunch of fruit instead of all the vegetables. I think this roll could be really amazing if they tweaked it a bit.

photo(12)We got some pork dumplings. They were pretty good, but the health nut in me wishes that they were steamed rather than fried. I don’t know why, but I just enjoy steamed things over fried any day. Here was another time there was a little slip up. They ended up bringing us two plates of dumplings. Not complaining though because they were good. Although at this point we were about to vomit from eating too much.

photo(13)This is one of the best appetizers I’ve had at a sushi place. It is the sticky ball of greatness, but really just called Sticky Ball. It has sushi rice, krab and spicy tuna stuffed inside an inari pocket tempura fried and topped with wasabi mayo and unagi sauce. It is a fried ball of delicious flavors. Not to mention the sweet sauces that top it. I am in heaven every time we order this. This time they chopped it up into four pieces, which was really nice.

We ended up eating a lot more than this, but I thought there was no need to take a million pictures of the same thing over and over again. The third mishap came when the waiter dropped off two pieces of salmon nigiri. I’m not a big fan of nigiri because I think it is just so plain and boring, but my brother was nice and ate a piece. The best part is that we think it was for a table behind us because they were complaining that they only came there for the nigiri. REALLY? This place has some of the most delicious and creative rolls, and you came for the nigiri? I’m not sure if you know this, but you can get standard nigiri anywhere, even the grocery store. We laughed so hard that we were tearing up. It was a great night with my brother.

5 thoughts on “Sushi Wasted

  1. Congratulations! Is this where u will do your internship as well. Enjoy the food blogging now, it gets really tough in graduate school!

Leave a Reply

