Celebrating with the Fried

Hey ya’ll! Today I’m providing you with a review for a local food truck in San Marcos, Tx. I actually ate this meal a while ago, but I forgot to give my review on it because I’ve been crazy busy. This was my celebration to the end of Passover. It was a rainy day, probably because my stomach was crying from consuming way too much matzah and it was begging for something delicious to eat. I decided to go the food truck route because I wanted something quick, but with tons of flavor. I went to one of the food truck parks and looked at my options. Hmm..which one should I choose?

photo(7)I was looking for one requirement that day. No wait, two. One: it had to involve some type of bread (in the form of batter, actual bread, or utilization of flour in a product). Second: it had to be delicious and fattening. Fried seafood? Sounds like a plan. I chose to go to the Caboose food trailer to end my Passover starvation. There was so many things on the menu that I had no idea what to order. After talking with the staff, I decided to get the fried oysters for my meal and have dessert for later, which was funnel cake fries (oh yes, I went there).

photo(6)The oyster meal came with fried oysters, french fries, and three hush puppies. It was so much food that I was regretting getting the funnel cake sticks. Then I remembered, oh wait I have a refrigerator, so I can just save this stuff for later if I get full. I definitely got full quick because my stomach wasn’t used to eating so much food and eating flour. The meal came with some special sauce that was really delicious with cajun spice flavors.

photo(4)I have to say I was a bit disappointed with the oysters. They were too salty for my taste. The owner was nice though and gave me extra because he thought the sizes weren’t decent enough. I think next time I’m going to go for a po’boy. The french fries were amazing though. They were rolled in a variety of spices and were fried to perfection. I love a good french fry.

photoThe hush puppies were like none that I have ever had before. They were spicier and were a different consistency than the ones I’ve had. This was definitely a good thing. Take one of these suckers and dip it into the Caboose’s special sauce, and you have yourself a winning combination. I couldn’t eat all of the meal, so I put in the refrigerator to eat for lunch the next day.

photo(1)This may have been the most glorious thing that has ever been created in the world. Funnel cake fries. They are fried sticks of funnel cake that you can have topped with whatever syrup you want and powdered sugar. I would seriously go to this trailer just for these delicious bites of goodness.

photo(2)I had raspberry and vanilla on top of mine. The owner said that was the most popular combination, so I said why not. They also had caramel, chocolate, strawberry, and one other flavor that I can’t remember. Luckily that night I was going to the movies with some friends, so I decided to sneak these bad boys in my giant purse for us all to enjoy.

I hope ya’ll enjoyed my fried adventure. Ya’ll probably are like how does this girl not gain a ton of weight from all the crud that she eats? Well it is eating healthy and treating yourself every once and a while. My treat day is usually Sunday and I pick something delicious that I want to have. It doesn’t hurt that I also have volleyball practice on Sundays, so I get an good workout in too! I changed the blog’s name to Functional Foodie because I am more of a foodie blogger than a healthy living blogger.

3 thoughts on “Celebrating with the Fried

  1. I’m still jealous that you have such a huge selection of food trucks in TX! I heard my school’s going to be getting some next year though because they’re renovating our student union and people will have nowhere to eat otherwise. So I’m hoping I can finally try a food truck either this summer or next fall!

Leave a Reply

