Easy Caprese Sandwich

Hey ya’ll! Today was my official last day of class. I am so excited. I had an exam, which I think I rocked because I finished in 18 minutes. Go Lindsay. Anyways lets get on to the good stuff: food. One thing I love to enjoy is anything with mozzarella and tomatoes. What does that sound like? Caprese salad. However those ingredients can get really heavy in calories, so I thought why not create a light version? Then I had the greatest idea to combine it with my love for pressed paninis. Best decision ever.

photo(2)Easy Caprese Sandwich

2 slices of 40 calorie bread
4-5 slices of tomato
a few extremely thin slices of fresh mozzarella
fresh basil leafs

photo(4)1. Turn on your pannini machine to medium-high heat and let it warm up.

2. Take your tomato slices, mozzarella slices, and basil and put it on one side of the bread.

photo(1)3. Place the other piece of bread on top and spray both sides with non-stick cooking spray.

4. Once the machine is heated, place your sandwich in the press and make sure it is tight on the bread.

5. Once the cheese has melted, remove the sandwich from the press and enjoy.

photo(3)Look at the melty goodness of this sandwich. If you want to make a good grilled cheese or have a sandwich with a melted cheese, you are better off using a fresh, full fat version. The fat free versions of cheese don’t melt well because they lack a multitude of ingredients that are in fresh cheese. This was such a good treat to have. I will definitely be making this sandwich a lot. I think next time I’m going to add some pesto on the bread to bring in a nice combination of flavors.

photoHopefully everyone is having a fantastic Monday because I know I am! Now I just have to get to studying for my Medical Nutrition Therapy final that is on Thursday. I feel pretty good about it, so I’m not too worried or stressed about studying hardcore!

What is your favorite type of sandwich?
Do you like your sandwich grilled or not?

14 thoughts on “Easy Caprese Sandwich

  1. Lucky you, and congratulations with getting through the year 🙂 That sandwich sounds amazing right about now- anything involving cheese makes me happy! Personally, I prefer ungrilled sandwiches, but I’m pretty sure this one would convert me 😉

  2. I have been using my panini press like crazy lately!! I LOVE warm sandwiches right now. I sure hope you have panini’d a pb&j cause it’s legit..too legit!

  3. This caprese sandwich looks SO good! I’m going to have to try it. I laughed at the end of your post because I have my Medical Nutrition Therapy final tomorrow, which I should be studying for, and instead I am blog surfing! (oh well, it’s the end of the school year, right?!)

Leave a Reply

