WIAW (Life Without Plastic Bags)

Hey ya’ll! It is that time of the week again when bloggers around the world share what they are eating. It is one of my favorite link-ups, known as What I ate Wednesday. I bet there are other goods ones out there, but I just love to see what everyone is eating to get inspiration for recipes and blog posts. Thanks to Jenn for hosting this fantastic day! Seriously pure genius for coming up with it!

photo(3)Since school is pretty much over for me, I ended up going to my mom’s to study for finals and what not. Well I decided that I was going to cook up a storm in the house and make a ton of new recipes to share with ya’ll. So I drove over to the local HEB in my neighborhood to load up on groceries, but little did I know that there are NO more plastic bags (disclaimer: Yes, I actually knew, but I forget because this is sort of ridiculous). I’m all for helping the environment, but they should have plastic bags on hand just in case people forget. I have a million reusable bags, so I’m not going to spend money to buy another one just so I can carry my groceries like a normal person. Nope, I totally put everything back into my cart and rocked the no bag look. I got some stares.

photo(6)I was not going to let the plastic bag problem stop me. Although once I got to my house, I got reusable bags to help get everything out of the car. Now to the yummy part of the story. For breakfast I had chocolate covered strawberry cheesecake oats. Umm yes. I have an obsession with cheesecake oats (fat free cottage cheese + oatmeal). It seriously makes the oatmeal have a creamier and richer flavor to it.

photo(5)Close up, in yo face. You can’t go wrong with chocolate chips and strawberries. I have so many oatmeal recipes to share with ya’ll, it is ridiculous. I need to step up my oatmeal sharing game. Heck, I have so much to share with ya’ll. Maybe I’ll start posting two-a-day. That is a lot of effort for me, so probably not. Senioritis problems. You would think that maybe my second senior year I wouldn’t be so lazy, but no I think I’ve just gotten lazier as time goes on. At least graduate school will whip me into shape.

photo(4)So my family calls me snacky or snack monster, which is actually pretty nice I think since it could definitely be a lot worse. Hello, my name is Lindsay and I am addicted to snacks. I actually have an awesome post planned for the near future about healthy snacking. Since I love to snack, I decided that I need to come up with more healthy choices for snacks. Therefore apple nachos have come into the picture. You can do a ton of varieties with these bad boys. I decided to go the chocolate and caramel route, but you could definitely do granola, chocolate chips, etc. Pretty much anything goes good with these bad boys.

photo(2)Yes, I am one of those weird people that love salads. I could eat a salad for lunch and dinner if I could. The key to having a good salad is building it up with tons of healthy toppings. This is my healthy version of a Waldorf salad. It has grapes, apples, walnuts, celery, and chicken in it. Such a winning combination. Usually there is a type of gross cheese in it (yes, there are some gross cheeses out there), so I went sans cheese on this one.

photo(1)Three cheers for another healthy snack. I saw this on Pinterest a while ago, but it was for camping. Who needs to go camping to make a delicious treat like this? Not me. I made my version of a banana s’mores with marshmallows and chocolate chips. It was delicious. I will share how to actually make this when I post about healthy snacks, but just looking at it is making me drool and want another one. Like the apple nachos, you can do tons of combinations with this one.

photoYou know just staring at this picture you want the recipe. Too bad you are going to have to wait a few days. I’m trying this whole thing were I am organized about my blog posts, and so far it is going pretty well. It just means that I won’t be posting up this recipe yet. However it is spaghetti squash pad Thai with tofu. Yes, it is as amazing as it looks. I’m seriously getting excited just looking at it because it is a beautiful dish. Plus I remembered I have leftovers in the fridge! Go me.

photo(7)MWAHAHA the snack monster has arrived. This is a not-so healthy, but not-so fattening snack. I have a passion for snowcones. Maybe a deep love too. I love going around to try all the snowcone stands in Austin. I have discovered a few more to try out and review, but this is from one of my favorite stands: Casey’s New Orleans Snowcones. You know I have to represent the city I was born in, so I’m a loyal customer. Plus these are just so darn good. This one is a strawberry cheesecake snowcone. The flavors are so rich in it and the ice is soft. I really despise when there is hard ice that doesn’t soak up the flavor. Lame.

I hope everyone is having a fantastic Wednesday! I’m currently studying for my Medical Nutrition Therapy final and make up exam. Yes, I have two exams tomorrow in the time period for one final. I think I can pretty much rock it. Although my make-up exam is on enteral and parenteral feedings + some other lovely junk about the GI system, so it is not the most pleasant topic. Hope ya’lls day is less gross than mine!

9 thoughts on “WIAW (Life Without Plastic Bags)

  1. I always rock the no bag look. I never take plastic bags, and if I don’t have my reusable ones (which is always..I never remember them) I just carry my stuff out without a bag!

    • Yes, I’m glad I’m not the only one. I seriously get spacey sometimes when I go the store because I’m thinking about what I’m going to buy and then when I pull up to the checkout its like oh crud, I don’t have bags. Austin has a law now that there are no plastic bags anywhere in Austin. It is INSANE. Like even at the mall, you have to bring your own bags.

  2. So that’s slightly ridiculous that they didn’t have anything that you could use. I would probably have wasted a few bucks and bought some new bags, even though, like you, I have a gazillion at home. I had no idea about that new law until I saw your comment above to Brittany. Very cool, but at the same time very very frustrating.

Leave a Reply

