Pad Thai Spaghetti Squash

Hey ya’ll! I have survived my first final. It was really easy to be honest, but my make-up exam was kind of hard, which was shocking. It was all short answer, which the test is usually multiple choice, a few short answer, and a case study. Instead it was all short answer and a case study. Hopefully I did well. If not, it isn’t the end of the world since I rocked the final. So I have something super special to share with ya’ll: my recipe for tofu spaghetti squash pad thai. Maybe one of the greatest things I have ever experienced (let me rephrase that: greatest healthy thing).

photo

Tofu Spaghetti Squash Pad Thai
1 red onion
1 spaghetti squash
1 c of carrots (already in thin stick form)
1 c bean sprouts
1/4-1/2 c of liquid egg whites
1 clove of garlic
crushed peanuts
a few pieces of cilantro

Peanut Sauce
2 tbsp white rice vinegar
2 tbsp soy sauce
1-2 tbsp brown sugar
1 lime
1 clove of garlic
2 tbsp of PB2 prepared with 3-4 tbsp of water

photo(1)1. Preheat oven to 400 degrees and slice your spaghetti squash into half. Carve out the middle of the squash that contains all of the seeds and discard into the trash.

2. Place squash on a baking sheet or in a pyrex dish with the skin facing the dish and cook for 40-60 minutes until soft.

3. Meanwhile drain tofu of all water and slice into extremely small pieces (or if you want larger chunks don’t cut down into fine cubes).

photo(13)4. Spray pan with non-stick cooking spray and toss in tofu (you can use 1 tbsp oil if you want it more crisp/fried like). Cook until light brown on sides.

5. Remove tofu from pan and toss in chopped red onion (you don’t have to add all of the red onion, I just added as much as I wanted there to be in the dish).

6. Cook for a minute or two, then add in chopped garlic (stir continuously, so it does not burn).

7. After a minute has gone by, add in the carrots and bean sprouts. You may need to spray the pan again with the non-cook PAM or add in some water, so the pan doesn’t burn.

photo8. Toss in the tofu to re-heat and mix with all the vegetables.

9. Move mixture to the side of the pan and add in the liquid egg whites. Wait until the liquid starts to solidify before moving around to turn into scrambled eggs.

10. Then mix all the ingredients together and then remove pan from flame to place on a burner for the meantime.

11. In a small saucepan or pot, add in the vinegar, soy sauce, brown sugar, PB2, juice of one lime, and a clove of garlic.

12. Heat on medium and stir until the brown sugar and PB2 completely dissolves.

13. Place vegetable/tofu mixture back on a flame to heat back up then pour the cooked sauce into the mixture. Stir until everything is thoroughly coated.

14. By this time the spaghetti squash should be done cooking, so remove from oven and let cool. Once the squash is cool you can use a fork to pull the “noodles” from the squash. Once you have the amount you want, throw the “noodles” into the vegetable mixture and stir well.

photo(2)15. Pour however much you want into a bowl and top with a handful of crushed peanuts and around 6-7 cilantro leaves. Then enjoy!

Seriously this is one of the best meals I’ve made for myself. I have a love for all types of Asian food, so when I realized I could utilize spaghetti squash as noodles in pad thai my world completely changed. The richness of the peanut sauce meshes well with the freshness of the cooked vegetables. You can’t even tell that the noodles are spaghetti squash. I think it is the sauce that really ties it all together. I even had so much that I have had leftovers for two days. Also I didn’t use all my noodles, so I made spaghetti squash mac n cheese, which I will obviously have to share with ya’ll another day.

photo(3)I think another thing that I like so much about this dish is all the wonderful colors in it. The cilantro brings a nice pop of green to the dish while it has a lot of warm colors in it such as the red from the onion, the orange from the carrots, and the yellow from the squash. Wow I sound like an art freak to be honest. What can I say I have transitioned from oils and pastels to food. Okay, no I am still doing art because I love it, but now I just have another medium to work with: fresh food. This dish is definitely a hit. Even the non-vegetable eaters would probably love this. The true test is to use it on a guy (not saying that all guys don’t eat vegetables, just most)!

I hope everyone enjoys the rest of their Thursday evening. Mine will be spent curled up in bed reading a book. I just finished Night Circus and it was fantastic!

Have you ever had spaghetti squash?
What have you done with it?

13 thoughts on “Pad Thai Spaghetti Squash

  1. Yum! I’ve been craving asian hardcore the past couple days, and I love how simple this sauce is. I don’t tend to keep a bunch of fancy ingredients in the house, but I have all of those! Definitely need to try this one.

  2. This recipe is GENIUS!! I LOVE spag squash, but have only eaten it with spaghetti sauce. This is seriously a great idea and I am making this asap.

  3. Just recently diagnosed with type 2 diabetes. Absolutely love Pad thai. So, you won me over. I fixed this for lunch with my husband and it is on the top of our favorite list! I added a little chinese chile paste to the sauce to give it a kick and wow, what a delicious meal. Thanks for helping me watch my carbs!

  4. Pingback: Foodie Friday: spaghetti squash | Pure Elements

Leave a Reply

