Eggplant Parmesan Gets Healthified

Hey ya’ll! Hope everyone is having a good Saturday. I swear I am getting so forgetful these days. I just remembered that I had a paper due at midnight tonight in my online philosophy class. It is not a fun assignment either. Boo to doing work. Luckily my mom and I are working on a delicious baked good hat I will definitely be sharing with ya’ll in a couple of days. Until then I’m going to have to share another delicious recipe with ya’ll: Eggplant parmesan. Eggplant parm can pack in a ton of unnecessary calories, but if you follow this recipe then you will be able to lose weight while eating great!

photo(2)

Healthified Eggplant Parmesan
1 eggplant
1-2 tsp of extra virgin olive oil
1 fresh tomato
1/2 c. of tomato sauce
6-8  thin slices of mozzarella
1 tbsp of Italian seasoned bread crumbs
pinch of salt

photo(5)1. Preheat oven to 375. Slice eggplant lengthwise into slices and place on a baking sheet. Sprinkle salt on top of the slices and drizzle a little bit of olive oil on each piece.

2. Cook in the oven for around 20 minutes or until the eggplant appears slightly brown.

3. Then place a small amount of sauce on each slice of eggplant (I had around four slices of eggplant, so it didn’t take that much sauce to cover lightly). Then add on 2-3 slices of tomato on each piece of eggplant. Next you add 1-2 slices of the mozzarella cheese (make sure that each slice of cheese is pretty thin that way you won’t be consuming a ton of calories and you will get the great meltability that you want). Finally sprinkle on some breadcrumbs and place into the oven.

photo(4)4. Cook in the oven at 400 degrees until the cheese is completely melted. Then remove from the oven and let cool for a few minutes until warm enough to take off the pan.

photo(1)I am in love with this dish. A great thing to serve along with it would be spaghetti squash (just another vegetable that I’m obsessed with). The cheese, when it melts, provides a nice creamy flavor to the crunch of the crisped breadcrumbs. The eggplant is soft from being cooked, yet it is crisp on the outside. It provides a nice contrast in your mouth. Also by only having a thin amount of sauce, there is not a ton of mess from this fantastic dish.

photo(3)

Italian food is one of the best good genres in my opinion, well besides Asian of course. However Italian food comes along with tons of empty calories and high fattening foods, so it is important to either modify the recipe or make smart choices when you are eating out! I hope ya’ll like this recipe because I know I did. Have an awesome rest of the night. I’m going back into the nerd world of writing papers. The things I do to make it to graduation.

3 thoughts on “Eggplant Parmesan Gets Healthified

Leave a Reply

