Breakfast Cookies

Hey ya’ll! It is Sunday and I’m currently dying. This will probably be my last post until Wednesday because I need to focus on my paper on the biochemistry of type 2 diabetes. I need to really rock it out and study for my biochemical nutrition final/all my other finals. Senior problems, but really. I have the worst case of senioritis, which is not really beneficial at this moment in life. I just need to make it to Wednesday and I can be done with undergrad life forever! Since I’m on a break from working on my paper, I thought I would share a delicious recipe with ya’ll! Cookies for breakfast? Umm yes, you heard me right. This is a super low calorie recipe that provides a ton of functional aspects with the oatmeal, bananas, and cinnamon! You can actually eat these anytime during the day, but I call them breakfast cookies since the ingredients are typically what I eat for breakfast.

photo(4)

Breakfast Cookies
2 extremely brown bananas
1 c of old fashioned oats
1 tbsp cinnamon
1-2 sprinkles of chocolate chips

photo(6)

1. Preheat oven to 350.

2. Take two bananas (make sure that they are brown or starting to brown because it is easier to mash super soft bananas) and mash them in a small mixing bowl until it has reached a smooth and creamy consistency.

3. Add in the oatmeal, chocolate chips, and cinnamon. Mix thoroughly.

photo(3)

4. Take a spoon and make a small dollop of mixture on a baking sheet. If you do a small-normal size, it will make around 12-15 cookies. My batch made 15 cookies with some being on the larger side, so it could potentially make up to 18 cookies if they are all small.

photo(5)

5. Place in oven for 15 minutes and cook until brown. You may want to cook them a little longer if you want them crispier because when I cooked them for 15 minutes the bananas still provided a small amount of mush, but I like that. If you don’t, just cook for longer.

photo(2)

This is such a healthy and nutritious snack to keep around your house or apartment. I placed two-three cookies in a snack size ziploc bag to carry around in my backpack to class. It is such a good idea to do since this recipe contains a lot of fiber, which helps keep your stomach full. The oatmeal provides a ton of functional benefits such as increasing appetite control hormones so you don’t get hungry right after eating, the beta-glucans in the oats improve immune system functions, they can potentially help decrease type 2 diabetes through lowering insulin resistance, and they help control blood pressure. Now you know why I always try to start my day with oats! If you consume more functional foods in your life, you will live a happier, healthier, and potentially longer life. Bananas have a ton of functional benefits too such as protection from cardiovascular disease due to potassium and fiber in bananas, protection from the development of ulcers, and promote kidney health. Finally cinnamon provides a ton of benefits. You definitely need to use more spices and herbs in your diet because they have tons of hidden functional properties. Cinnamon helps lower your cholesterol, regulate your blood sugar thus impacting diabetes, plays a role in cancer prevention, it is an anti-bacterial and an anti-clotter, it helps relieve joint pain from arthritis, and works with brain health. Wow, cinnamon you rock. Sorry to get all science nerd on ya’ll, but functional foods was one of my favorite nutrition classes. Plus I work for my functional foods professor now in her lab studying tomato and broccoli’s effects on prostate cancer cells. It is pretty awesome!

photo(1)

Enjoy the cookies and have an awesome Sunday! I am going to go coach at volleyball practice right now. Then I have a ton of work to do after that. My never ending life.

What is your favorite type of cookie?
Do you consume a lot of functional foods in your diet?

7 thoughts on “Breakfast Cookies

  1. I’ve been looking for something exactly like this. I’ve actually been having quite a hard time finding some type of dessert that was as healthy as this. Plus its awesome that these are filling as well. Thank you.

Leave a Reply

