WIAW Back to the Party

Hey ya’ll! Sorry I was gone for so long, but I decided to take a mini vacation from my responsibilities (lets be serious, blogging is my only one right now haha). I’m back again because I have so many wonderful posts of restaurant reviews, recipes, and other great surprises for ya’ll! Guess who’s blog is almost one year old? MINE! That is exciting. In the mean time I’m going to celebrate my favorite weekly party WIAW, which is hosted by Jenn. Seriously love it. It always puts me in a better mood to stare at beautiful pictures of food. Not that I’m in a bad mood because I killed my biochemical nutrition paper and the final. 4.0 for my final semester and Dean’s list yet again. Go Lindsay! Lets get it started in hurrrr (oh god I am not that lame)

DSC01683

Introducing one of my favorite combinations, cake batter oatmeal. You seriously can’t go wrong with anything that is cake batter flavored or themed. Plus the pile of sprinkles adds a happy cheer to this bowl of deliciousness. I had to top it with peanut butter for a creamy texture. It was definitely a good decision. Just looking at this bowl makes me happy. It is really hard for me to decide if I like oatmeal or pancakes more for breakfast, so I think I’m just going to say it is a tie. I have a ton of oatmeal recipes in my brain right now, so get ready in the next month for some epic, scrumptious recipes that will make you drool and run out to go buy oatmeal immediately. Score.

DSC02801

What is this? An apple? No. Um what? Yes, this is a pear. It is called a papple. Did I buy it partially because of the name? Yes, but also because I love pears and the fact that it looks like a freaking apple. My mom and I were at Central Market to get apples and some fresh fish when we ran across this interesting specimen. We decided to get one for each of us to try. The texture was very odd, but delicious. It was crisp like a pear, but had a crunch like an apple. The flavor was not overly sweet with a small amount of tartness to it.

DSC02772

I go weak for a good salad. This is my healthy version of a Chinese chicken salad. I left out the unhealthy fried crispy strings. It has avocado, mandarin oranges, sliced red onion, carrot sticks, grilled chicken, lettuce, and a nice sesame thai sauce that is slightly drizzled over the salad. Winner winner healthy chicken dinner. I love making popular salads a lot less calorie packed. I’m going to do an eat this, not that post in regards to my recipe redux of fatty salads that people consider healthy at many popular restaurant chains.

photo

This sort of looks like a pile of mush, but a really delicious pile of junk. Don’t worry I didn’t eat this all in the same day. The base of this entire box of goodies is lettuce. It is topped with onions, mushrooms, carrots, edamame, curry chickpea salad, tofu in pesto, broiled cauliflower, sauteed mushrooms, a little piece of salmon, some grilled zucchini, and some black olives. This was one of the most filling meals I’ve ever had. My favorite thing in this box of whole foods salad bar goods was the curry chickpea salad. It was not over powering with the curry and it had a sweet flavor with the mango and edamame in it. Yum. I love the salad bar.

photo(1)

Every since my mom’s birthday, we have been on the look out for the black forest parfait at Whole Foods. However THEY HAVEN’T HAD IT. Seriously depressing. We decided to try this lemon berry parfait instead. However since we are total idiots, we didn’t realize that the lemony goodness was on the bottom of the cup, so we were eating it and being like WHERE is the lemon dang it. Once we discovered the lemon it was like ooooo that is good, but still not as great as the black forest one. That is just my favorite. You can’t go wrong with chocolate and cherries. Noms.

photo(3)

Barf in a bowl? It sort of looks like it, but instead it is my delicious creation with my left over spaghetti squash. It is the healthy version of mac n cheese. It is crazy good. I know it looks disgusting to look at, but trust me when you have a bite it it just cheesy goodness that melts in your mouth. I will definitely have to take more pictures and make this recipe again, so I can actually share it with you. It came to me on a whim when I got home from volleyball practice. I was in the mood for cheese (my favorite food group – you are obviously sick if you don’t like cheese), so I was like hmm mac n cheese, but let me make this healthy.

DSC02787

Healthy snacks by Lindsay. I am getting good at this. I am definitely going to add this to my snack post that is coming real soon. This was homemade cinnamon chips topped with chopped strawberries and a little sugar free chocolate syrup. Dessert nachos. This is the way to go. It was cinnamon sugar that is dusted on the tortilla. It makes for a subtle sweet flavor. I definitely can’t wait to make more of these with different toppings.

DSC02798

Heaven in little squares? You bet. I have one fatty awesome treat coming for you all in the next few weeks. These are petit fours filled with Bavarian cream and lemon filling. I know you are all now drooling. I have more pictures, but I’m definitely going to have to hold back on ya’ll for the meantime because you will be crying and yelling at me to give the recipe to you immediately. These things are fantastic. My mom and I made them for my volleyball team, and we are getting ready to make some more for a wedding shower. I think I should just quit at life and open a bakery. Food truck maybe? If life doesn’t work out then maybe that will be the plan.

I hope you all have a fantastic Wednesday. I’m currently working on some diet plans for a client I have. If this is a success, I’m totally going to use this person as my business card for my future nutrition practice once I get my license. Also I have tons of artwork I’m doing plus I’m working on tons of scientific papers for my professor. I’m out on the job hunt too, but it isn’t looking good since I’m going to Europe for two weeks. Oh well, those people are losing out because I’m awesome.

Would anyone be interested in doing guest post for me in June?

3 thoughts on “WIAW Back to the Party

  1. Cake batter oatmeal, oh my goodness this is GENIUS! I love cake batter and I love oats even more so this is right up my ally! I love the part where you said “just looking at this bowl makes me happy”, I couldn’t agree more! If you’re still looking for guest posts for June I would be interested, send me an email at: illustratednutrition@gmail.com

  2. welcome back – everything looks so good!
    cake batter oats are the best! cake batter pancakes are amazing as well! sprinkles make everything tastier too ehhee.

Leave a Reply

