A Healthy Meatball Sub

Hey ya’ll! It is Thursday. My week is actually pretty relaxing since now all I will be doing is working on research and other little science nerd projects. I have an awesome recipe to share with ya’ll! I love meatball sub sandwiches that are rich in cheese, sauce, and meat. However those things are totally not calorie friendly. Instead I decided to brainstorm my own healthy recipe for a meatball sub and I came up with something pretty delicious if I do say so myself!

DSC02770

Healthy Meatball Sub Sandwich

6-7 veggie patch meatless meatballs
2 super thin slices of mozzarella cheese
1 tbsp of Contadina low calorie Tomato sauce
2 slices of sandwich thins
non-stick cooking spray

DSC02764

1. First you need to microwave the vegetable meatballs in the microwave. The box said 20 seconds, but it took me around 40 seconds to almost a minute in some cases because they would not get hot enough.

2. Then place all the meatballs in an orderly pattern on one slice of bread.

DSC02766

3. Take a few thin slices of mozzarella and place on the meatballs. If you want it to be super cheesy, I would add more cheese. However you should remember that the calories add up when you consume more cheese.

4. Turn on your panini machine and spray both sides of the bread with non-stick cooking spray. Place onto the panini machine and cook until the cheese is completely melted. Turn the machine off and carefully take off the sandwich.

DSC02767

5. Take off one slice of bread and pour on the 1 tbsp of sauce. Make sure you don’t spill it because that will lead to one messy sandwich. I would recommend wrapping it in a paper towel as you eat it because the sauce can sometimes leak out of the bottom if it isn’t thick enough.

DSC02769

Noms. This sandwich is so good. A normal sub sandwich that you could get at Subway or at another sandwich shop can contain around 650 calories, 25-40 g of fat, and 56-60 g of carbohydrates. That is an excessive amount of fat that is in one menu item plus the amount of calories is way more than one should be spending on one sandwich. My sandwich contains 290 calories, 7 g of fat, and 25 g of carbohydrates. That is definitely a better switch and in my opinion a tastier option. Those other meatball sandwiches usually taste artificial to me unless you order from a legit Italian restaurant. I am definitely using this as my treat every once and a while with fresh mozzarella. I love when cheese melts to the point that it is stringy. Seriously who doesn’t like cheese?!? Obviously if you don’t, you need therapy. These meatless meatballs were really good too. They were packed with various spices and flavors. They were so good that my mom went out to buy another box and we ended up finding falafel too, which I’m excited to eat soon. Falafel sandwich will definitely be a new trend. Noms. I have a weakness for falafel. Jew problems. Or maybe falafel is just that good!

DSC02768

I love the way the bread gets browned too by the panini machine. A panini machine may be one of the best inventions I’ve ever seen or owned (besides my kitchen aid mixer). You can make tons of things on a grilling machine. There was actually an awesome post on buzzfeed with like 25 things you can make on one. I will definitely have to try out some of those recipes! I hope you all have an awesome day. I’m going to be getting my nerd on and researching angiogenesis on prostate cancer with broccoli and tomatoes effects on this process. Go functional foods!

What is your favorite sandwich?
Have you ever cooked something unusual on a panini machine?

8 thoughts on “A Healthy Meatball Sub

Leave a Reply

