Cauliflower Crust Pizza

Hey ya’ll! It is Friday, which I couldn’t be happier about. I feel like weekends are still magical even when I’m not in school. Funny story about last night though. I had a major panic attack at 11 pm last night and emailed my adviser at school about 4 times. When I transferred back from Boston, I had to get approval for all of these hours since Texas is weird and requires all of these dumb credits (like Texas History – will not use that class ever), so I needed to make sure that I was still under the minimum hours of transfer credit allowed. However I convinced myself that I had way too many transfer hours and that I wasn’t going to be able to graduate and go to grad school. Luckily my adviser told me I was crazy (no he didn’t, but I bet he was thinking I was) and that I was fine. Thank god. I was going to go cry to someone at the university or something to make it better. Since that was so stressful, I have an awesome and delicious recipe to share with ya’ll! Cauliflower pizza crust. Sounds kind of gross, but oh my buhjeezus is this stuff good!

photo(2)

Cauliflower Pizza Crust

2 cups of grated cauliflower
1/2 c of finely chopped basil
1/3 c of liquid egg whites
1 egg
2 c of fat free shredded mozzarella cheese

photo(6)

1. Preheat the oven to 450. Then you  need to cook the cauliflower. I used frozen cauliflower, so I just boiled some water, threw in the cauliflower, covered, and let cook in boiling water for 4 minutes. Once it was done cooking, I removed it from the water by draining it in the sink. Then I placed it in a food processor to chop into small bits. I then placed two cups into a mixing bowl.

2. The first time I made this recipe, I finely chopped all the basil by hand. That took forever. New and smarter plan is to throw the amount of basil you want into the food processor and chop it until you have fine pieces. Throw the basil into the mixing bowl with the cauliflower.

3. Then add the liquid egg whites, cheese, and 1 egg into the mixing bowl. Stir well until it is a thick clump.

photo(7)

4. Get a cookie sheet and place a piece of parchment paper over it. Spray the paper with non-stick cooking spray.

5. Grab clumps of the “dough” to make 4 mini pizzas. You keep adding to each pile until they are about the same. Then place the pizzas into the oven for 20 minutes. If the pizzas are not as crispy as you would like, add another 5 minutes to the time. However be careful of burning them.

photo(4)

6. Once you remove from the oven, add on toppings that you would like. I made one pizza with tomato paste, fat free slices of ham, and pineapple. The other pizza had mushrooms, onions, and sliced tomatoes on top of it. Both pizzas were topped with fat free mozzarella and a sprinkle of low moisture mozzarella. My mom topped her pizzas with a larger amount of cheese. It just depends on how many calories you want to consume from cheese.

7. You then place the pizza back into the oven until the cheese has completely melted. This could either be very quick or slow, depending on the type of cheese you have topped your pizza with.

photo

Hello to cheesy goodness. You seriously can’t even tell that the crust is made from cauliflower. The basil and cheese masks that pungent cauliflower flavor, and provides a nice savory flavor to the dish. The crust wasn’t extremely crispy, so I recommend going light on the sauce. I learned my lesson from the first time we attempted this recipe. I was in charge of putting on the sauce, which I overloaded on and it soaked through the crust and all over the pan. It was still delicious though. You can cut the pizza into four little slices too. However it will not be like a perfectly cooked slice of pizza from Italy where it just flops. It takes some napkins to eat these. It is also really good as left overs.

photo(1)

The Hawaiian pizza was definitely my favorite. Later on when we made more, I decided to use a honey BBQ sauce for my base instead of tomato sauce. Best decision ever. It was amazing. This is now my go to healthy recipe. It provides you with tons of fiber, it is low calorie, and it is a tasty option when eating healthy. I can’t wait to try all different kinds of toppings. Mexican pizza? Pesto pizza? You bet I have all kinds of crazy ideas swirling around in my head right now. My mom and I are such fans of this recipe that we have already made it three times and she just bought more cauliflower today, so we could eat it again. Noms. Go out and make these immediately! You definitely won’t regret it.

Have you ever made a healthy alternative pizza crust?
What is your favorite pizza toppings?

14 thoughts on “Cauliflower Crust Pizza

  1. You’re killing me. I have been craving pizza for DAYS!! I have also been dying to make a cauliflower crust. My favorite pizza topping as of the last year has been POTATOES!! YES!

    • oooo potatoes. That actually sounds really good and I’ve never thought of doing that. Pure genius. You need to make this crust immediately. It is perfection made from cauliflower, which is quite hilarious since cauliflower is not everyone’s first choice of vegetable plus it smells when you cook it on the stove haha

  2. This pizza looks really good! I have to admit, I have seen cauliflower pizza on pinterest and I like the idea of it but something about the process of making it terrifies me. I’m so afraid I will screw it up and fail miserably so I just haven’t tried it, but you made it sound so easy!

  3. Looking forward to trying this recipe. I have lost nearly 40 pounds and eat much more healthy now than I ever have. I’m a baker and I believe I may be able to add some of my own ideas to this crust 😉 YUM.

  4. Pingback: Cauliflower Crust Pizza | Hollie Barkley

  5. Wow these sound incredible and I want to just go make some right now.
    I will be trying these sometime soon, I honestly cannot wait.
    Thank you so much for the recipe ;]

  6. Pingback: Nutrition Fact Friday: Cauliflower | The Functional Foodie

Leave a Reply

