Stuffed French Toast (Healthy Version)

Hey ya’ll! I am writing this from my bed because I’m so sore. I have started the Insanity workout program and oh my, it is not for the weak. I’m totally weak plus I’m sort of out of shape since I haven’t exercised a lot since I’ve been having problems with my arthritis. However I have been feeling better, so I thought why not do this? Well it is insane, literally. It is such a good workout though. After every video, I feel so refreshed and exhilarated that I survived the day. This leads to a sore Lindsay. Totally worth it though. Today I have a delicious recipe for you and a healthy swap.

photo(3)

I have made you guys a stuffed french toast recipe. Ihop serves a wide variety of stuffed french toasts that are packed with a ton of calories and fat. The combo at Ihop contains around 1450 calories and 76 g of fat. WOW. Now that is almost the average woman’s entire day of calories. Obviously that isn’t going to fill a person for the entire day, so it is definitely a waste of calories. Just the french toast only has around 490 calories and 39 g of fat. That is still a ton of unnecessary fat in a dish. Therefore I decided to make ya’ll a low calorie option that is just as delicious or maybe even better.

Elvis Stuffed French Toast

2 slices of 45-50 calorie bread (I used Nature’s Own)
1/2 c. of liquid egg whites
1-2 tsp of cinnamon
1-2 tsp of vanilla extract
2 tsp of fat free milk
2 tbsp of prepared PB2
1 banana
a sprinkle of chocolate chips
1 tsp of sugar free chocolate syrup

photo(5)

1. In a small bowl, mix the egg whites, milk, sugar, and vanilla.

2. Spray a pan with non-stick cooking spray and heat on medium.

3. Dip the bread into the bowl until both sides are covered with mixture. Then place the slices of bread into the pan. You may have to do one piece at a time if your pan is too small.

photo

4. Prepare the PB2 as the bottle instructs. I usually do 2 tbsp of powder then 1 and a half tbsp of water. That makes it more runny, but if you want it thick only use 1 tbsp of water in the mixture.

5. Spread onto one slice of the french toast. Then slice up a banana and place the slices on top of the peanut butter. I like mine orderly, so I make it 3 by 3 then just layer the extra bananas on top of the bottom slices.

6. Sprinkle a few chocolate chips on the bananas then top with the other slice of bread. Place the sugar free chocolate syrup on top of the bread lightly and enjoy.

You can put syrup on it if you want, but I don’t have sugar free syrup at home, so I just decided to opt without it. The dish is really rich without it, plus you have the syrupy effect from the creamy peanut butter and the chocolate syrup.

photo(1)

Yes, this is the new breakfast in bed I’ve decided. Someone needs to make me healthy stuffed french toast to deliver to me in bed. I know I have big dreams. It’s okay I’ll just make it myself and bring it back to bed with a cup of tea. Who needs anyone when I have my amazing self. This dish only contains 275 calories with 3.5 g of fat. Whaaaaat?? Such a better option than eating out at Ihop in my opinion. I know the butter and fat taste delicious, but there is no nutrition there. With my healthy stuffed french toast, you are getting a healthy serving of fat from the peanut butter, good fiber from the bread, and a serving of real fruit (because lets be honest, you know Ihop uses packaged/processed fruit).

photo(2)

Just looking at this makes me drool and get hungry. Except not really because I’m full from eating it. I love healthy filling breakfasts. It helps you start your day on a good note, plus it kick starts your metabolism for the day. If you have problems eating breakfast in the morning, you probably need to make it more enjoyable. This is definitely an enjoyable recipe to try out. It only takes a few minutes to make too. The longest part is mixing the PB2 and dressing it up. You could probably make the french toast the night before, warm it up the next morning, and just put your toppings on in the morning. Time saved. I’m a genius. I just now how rushed a lot of people feel in the mornings. I experience that quite a lot especially when I’m running behind to go to school. None of that anymore…oh wait yeah graduate school haha. I guess I have mastered the morning rush though. I hope everyone has a fantastic Tuesday. I’ll be doing my Insanity workout a little while later and I’m going to add in some hip hop abs and pop pilates. Working out is so great, maybe I’ll do a nutrition fact Friday on exercise. Brain is churning.

What is your favorite breakfast food?
What would you like your french toast stuffed with?

14 thoughts on “Stuffed French Toast (Healthy Version)

  1. Oh sweet Lord this looks amazing. I would stuff my toast with STRAWBERRIES or BLUEBERRIES!! I want to try Insanity sooo bad, I would be sososo sore too. I run..I don’t do strength stuff except for on occasion in yoga! HA!

  2. This looks AMAZING! I think I know what I will be making on sat morning. My favorite breakfast would prob be oatmeal with peanut butter.

  3. This French toast looks so amazing! Chocolate, PB, banana….oh my gosh!

    LOVE Insanity! Well, I actually hate doing it, but you know what I mean 😉

    Yeah, it literally had me sweating and breathing hard and wanting to quit during the WARMUP (high knees are the worst) but I really did find that I was able to kind of keep up after awhile. Plus, Shaun T is sooooo fine. Dig deep! 😛

  4. Love the Elvis reference! And Insanity is CRAZY hard, right?! Good luck with it! I use it as a supplemental workout but have adapted a lot of the moves into my core and leg day at the gym. It really is killer, just keep at it though 🙂 Its a fantastic workout!

Leave a Reply

