Sushi Time!

Hey ya’ll! I survived my first day of full class. I have class from 3-9 pretty much with small breaks in between each class. By the end of the day, I had a headache. I think it was because I didn’t eat enough, but my last class of the day is sort of boring. It is a research methods class, which I find that I don’t need since I can read research, I’ve worked in a research lab, and I wrote a review paper to be published. Hmmmm. Can I just not take it pretty please? I’ll suck it up and survive though. The professor is at least this hilarious older guy who lived in Austin for 8 years, so hook em! On to the fooood. This weekend, Carrianne and I went to have dinner with a friend of ours from BU over in Brooklyn where he lives. Let me tell you something about Brooklyn. It has delicious food, but OMG it is so far away on the train from where we live. Not to mention the fact that the L just sits at 8th ave FOREVER! Lets distract my anger towards the train by thinking about my favorite food: SUSHI!

l

We ended up going to this really cute place in Williamsburg called 1 or 8. At first we couldn’t figure out where it was because the sign on the door was incredibly tiny. We weren’t sure if it was the place or not until I eventually saw it say 1 or 8 on the wall. When we walked in the hostess asked if we had a reservation, which we said no to and then she went away for a few minutes. At first we were a bit like what? Since there was not many people there at the time we went. However she came back with menus and took us into this really cute room with branches all along the wall. It definitely had an awesome atmosphere.

photo

The menus were the cutest things. Each menu was on a clipboard. The main menu had about 4-5 pages. The drink menu came on a super tiny and adorable clipboard. It was just a super fun place to be. It was definitely a hip spot because there were huge groups of people. I was excited as I flipped through the menu looking at all the possibilities. I did think it was super hilarious that they had fish and chips or croquettes on the menu. It was like a Japanese fusion type of restaurant.

photo(1)

So pretty much all of my photos are going to be dark because the restaurant decided to have some romantic lighting by candlelight only. Therefore I think only about one of my photos turned out perfect.  We started out with some edamame because all three of us were starving. We were popping these things into our mouths like crazy. We went through this bowl pretty fast, but by the time we were done our food was there. Our friend Jason ended up getting Miso soup with his meal. He let me have a bite and it was delicious. The tofu in it was made fresh at the restaurant.

photo(3)

My dark plate of sushi. Oh how I love thee. You were so delicious and tasty. The roll in the front was called a salmon mozzarella roll. It had salmon, mozzarella, semi-dried tomato, and yuzu tobiko. It came along with a basil dipping sauce. Wow this roll was delicious. At first I was skeptical because Carrianne said she had a bad experience with a cheese roll, but I thought why not go for it anyways? It was a good decision. It tasted a bit like bacon rolled in mozzarella cheese. In my mind it was Italian style sushi. My other roll was yellowtail mango. I love mango, so that is really the only reason I decided to get this roll. The roll obviously had yellowtail and mango, but it contained jalapenos too. It came along with a cilantro sauce, which was to die for. The roll was fruity and fresh. The quality of the fish was high, which made the place so appealing. I always hate when the fish isn’t up to par.

photo(4)

Here is Carrianne’s dark plate of sushi. She ended up getting a salmon skin roll and a few pieces of nigiri. She enjoyed all of her sushi and said the fish was so delicious.

photo(5)

Why did Jason’s plate of sushi come out in a normal color? I will never understand this. He ended up getting one of the sushi plates. It came with around 7 pieces of different types of nigiri and one sushi roll. His sushi roll was huge. It was stuffed with tuna, squash, and a wide assortment of other vegetables. He really seemed to like it. I don’t understand how people fit those huge pieces into their mouths and eat it like a normal person. I swear I look so uncivilized when I’m eating large pieces of sushi.

photo(6)

I saw this when we were walking to 1 or 8 and thought it was cute. I think I only like it because it says Jewish, but it was also neat that they had a bunch of street art around the city. Ya’ll know how much I love street art. Anyways 1 or 8 is definitely a good place to go for sushi. It is worth the trek out to Brooklyn if you don’t already live there. The prices are extremely decent. Averages from 10-13$ for a fancy/crazy roll while simple rolls are 4.50-6.50.

Leave a Reply

