Oatmeal Heaven

It is my birthday today! Usually I’m super excited because I love birthdays, holidays, surprises, and all of the above. As I’ve grown older though, I feel like I’ve learned a lot about life. Right now I feel as if birthdays are overrated, but maybe that will change and I’ll go back to my fun loving self. Anyways tomorrow I’ll post a recap on my birthday! Today I have an awesome post for you that pretty much sums up me in a cup. Ya’ll know oatmeal is my life. I eat it every day for breakfast unless I’m too lazy, but usually it is every morning. I’m always whipping up new flavor combinations to test out, so when I found out that there was an oatmeal shop in Greenwich village, I HAD TO GO. AN OATMEAL SHOP! YES! Dreams do come true. Enter Oatmeals.

photo

Oatmeals is the new name for heaven. Or at least Lindsay heaven. Not that Jews really believe in heaven, but if I were to believe it would be filled with oatmeal and hot basketball players and rappers. Hhaahaha. Anyways this cute little shop is located in Greenwich Village off of W 3rd st. It is pretty easy to find from the sign plus there isn’t much on the street. I love Greenwich because it is a super cute neighborhood with tons of foodie heaven for Lindsay to explore. Yes, I am now talking in the third person. Not sure what is going on with me at this moment.

photo 1

This place is fantastic. It is like build your own froyo, but with oatmeal. You can order your oatmeal with milk (skim, almond, etc) or just with water. I went with water because I like to use my calories for the good stuff (don’t worry, oatmeal is actually very healthy for you and in the most part very low calorie). Anyways they had a ton of flavor combinations that you could choose from. The options were savory, sweet, or a mix of both. I shocked myself by going for a savory option, but next time I go back I’m definitely going to get a sweet one because the choices were amazing. They had S’mores, caramel apple, and almond joy. Ummm yes. I want all of those and then some.

photo 2

Introducing the bacon pumpkin. Yes, it is as good as it looks. Pretty much a bowl of everything you desire and want in life. It had oatmeal, pumpkin puree, bacon, maple syrup, and sea salt. Oh my. At first I’m a bit speechless with this cup of oatmeal. The pumpkin makes the oatmeal creamy and rich with savory flavor. The bacon provides a nice smoky flavor with a little bit of saltiness. No wonder this is a savory dish. The bacon also gives a nice crunch since its pan fried. The maple syrup adds a hint of sweet flavor, but is is very subtle. I think it is used to mix the bacon flavor with the pumpkin puree. Then the small amount of sea salt gives it that saltiness that you crave from a savory dish.

photo 3

Just look at this. I could stare at this for hours. Man. If only I lived closer to Oatmeals, I would definitely be their most frequent customer. They have the cutest sizes too. Oatmeal comes in baby bear, mama bear, and papa bear sizes. SO. CUTE. I can’t even handle it, but yes I can so I can gobble up all the oatmeal in the world. I will definitely go here next weekend as a midterm study break. I need to try those sweet ones. Ya’ll know I have a huge weakness for sweets!

photo 5

Like look at this cuteness. I kind of wanted to steal this sign. I get sort of klepto sometimes when I see awesome things, but don’t worry because I actually don’t steal. I’m a good girl. I just love cute things. Anyways I hope you enjoyed my review of this delicious establishment. I can’t wait to share more delicious places with ya’ll that I have eaten at in NYc. I hope ya’ll have an awesome saturday. I’m going out to have some fun shopping and buying myself presents.

What is your favorite oatmeal combination?
Do you like pumpkin flavored things?

2 thoughts on “Oatmeal Heaven

Leave a Reply

