Doughnut Plant

Hey ya’ll! Hope everyone is having a relaxing Sunday. I am dying actual death. I ended up going out last night for my birthday, it was a good time, but I am so tired. Then I went to Chinatown for brunch today with my two girls! It was insane down there. Too many people. I do love my dim sum though. As ya’ll know Saturday is my treat day, so last Saturday I ended up getting myself a treat that I have been craving for years. Ever since I saw Doughnut Plant on Best Thing I Ever Ate on Food Network, I knew I had to go to this place. Finally this past Saturday I made my way to the doughnut heaven!

photo 1

Enter doughnut plant. It was as if it was fate that we had met that day. By chance there was a doughnut plant right by the place we were going to earlier that day. I told Carrianne that no matter what happened, I had to stop in so I could get something to go. It was literally one block over from where we were. Unfortunately since we went so late in the day, there was a lot of stock sold out, but there were still some really delicious doughnuts left on the shelves.

photo 2

This place is so cute. There is a wall of doughnut pillows. I really wanted to rip one off the wall and steal it You know which one. That pink sparkly one Maybe the peach one too. I love doughnuts and I love squishy pillows on my bed. The atmosphere is really fun in doughnut plant. The staff is super friendly and trendy, which makes the shop really great. The store is organized really great too. There is ropes with a line, so no one can cut you. I hate people that cut! So annoying!

photo 3

This is the creme brulee doughnut. It is kind of small, but packed with a ton of flavor. It is definitely worth the money. Inside is the pudding like cream that you would normally find in a creme brulee. The doughnut is then torched and it has a layer of hard caramel on the top. It was so amazing. Every bite was like tasting heaven. I was kind of sad that it was so small because I never wanted it to end The crunch of the outside went nice with the inside smooth texture. The flavors mixed well too.

photo 5

This is the carrot cake doughnut, which I am totally in love with. There was cream cheese in the inside of the doughnut, which was AMAZING. I love that about carrot cake, so I’m glad that they didn’t forget to include it. They also glazed it in a cream cheese icing, which was pure perfection. I was one happy customer. Carrianne and I both ended up choosing this doughnut when we saw it sitting in the display case. The carrot cake was very moist, which was pleasant. I would definitely get this doughnut again and again. It was my favorite.

photo 4

Carrianne’s second doughnut was a chocolate one since they were out of her first two choices, which was sad, but lesson learned. Don’t go at 3 pm in the afternoon because then you don’t get the full selection of doughnuts (good news though – Whole Foods is now carrying some doughnut plant doughnuts, which is awesome!!). I barely got a picture of this. I had been drinking, so my food picture taking skills were not on top of their game. I stepped it up though and caught the second half of the doughnut. She enjoyed it. We were in a happy doughnut coma.

photo 1(1)

I just want ya’ll to understand HOW CUTE this place is. This is the bench to sit on while you nibble on your doughnuts and coffee. This was cute. I love the shapes of their doughnuts too. They have square doughnuts! It is a super unconventional place. They have interesting flavors like lavender and roseseed. I love unique places like this because it is what makes New York City so awesome and special. I can’t wait to explore what other places are on the best thing I ever ate list. If you are ever in the city, this place is a must see!

photo 2(1)

Hahahah me with my doughnuts to go. This is the aftermath of a thing that is called rave brunch. I recommend the experience. It is definitely one for the memory books. Anyways I hope ya’ll enjoyed my review and that ya’ll actually go here if you are in New York. You definitely won’t regret your decision. Hope ya’ll have an awesome rest of your Sunday. I’ll be studying, relaxing, and catching up on some reading!

What is your favorite flavor of doughnut?
Have you ever been to a place on Best Thing I Ever Ate?

 

 

One thought on “Doughnut Plant

Leave a Reply

