Pumpkin Spice Doughnuts

Hey ya’ll! I hope everyone had a pretty fantastic weekend. Those of you that don’t have school or work tomorrow are lucky because the perks of being a graduate student means that I get to go to my 6 hours of class tomorrow. Weeeee. Anyways this has been a pretty good weekend. On Friday, I went to this salsa dancing place with my best friend from home, Isa, and these two guys. It was interesting to say the least. I am a pretty good dancer, but even I felt like the whitest person in the room. The rest of the weekend I have been working my butt off on all these assignments for school. Yes more perks of grad life. Luckily this has given me time to make a ton of delicious recipes to share with ya’ll. I have a doughnut recipe for ya’ll today. I was so happy when my mom mailed me my doughnut pan because it means I can make some delicious treats to enjoy with my hot chocolate (and for my roommates to have with their coffee in the mornings). Since it is fall, I obviously had to go pumpkin themed!

photo 4

Pumpkin Spice Doughnuts

2 cups of flour (any type – I used white all purpose)
1 1/2 tsp of baking power
1/2 tsp of salt
1/4 tsp of baking soda
2 tsp cinnamon
2 tsp of pumpkin pie spice
1/2 tsp of nutmeg
1/4 tsp of ginger
1/4 tsp of cloves
1 1/2 c of pumpkin
1/4 cup of softened butter
3/4 c of brown sugar
2 tsp of vanilla extract
2 tbsp of skim milk
3 medium eggs

Maple Glaze

1 1/4 c of powdered sugar
1/4 c of sugar free pancake syrup (use maple or regular syrup)
2 tsp of cinnamon
2 tbsp of skim milk

photo 1(1)

1. Preheat the oven to 350. Get out your doughnut pan and spray with nonstick cooking spray or grease with some butter.

2. In a large mixing bowl, add in the flour, baking powder, baking soda, all the spices, and salt together. Stir well with a whisk until the ingredients appear to be thoroughly mixed by making the flour appear a brown color.

3. If butter is not softened, place in microwave for about 20 seconds until soft. Then place into a mixing bowl with the brown sugar and pumpkin. If you have a kitchen aid or mixer, you can use that. However I used a whisk and did it by hand. You can add more pumpkin if you like depending on how much pumpkin flavor you want to the doughnut. Once you have mixed thoroughly, the mixture will appear to be a grainy brown texture.

4. Add in the eggs, milk, and vanilla extract. Mix until the eggs are no longer seen. Then slowly pour in the flour mixture. I used a 1/4 cup to pour it in slowly while I hand mixed it. At times, it gets a little harder to stir. It will appear to be a thick mixture, so you have to spoon it into the doughnut pan and move it around with your hands because it is not liquidy enough to pour.

5. Bake in oven for 16 minutes.

photo 2(1)

6. Let the doughnuts cool until you can remove them from the pan. This recipe made about 12 doughnuts. While the doughnuts are cooking, you can make the glaze. Just put all the ingredients in a small bowl and mix.

7. You want to set up a frosting station by placing aluminum foil down and then placing a wire rack on top. I was lucky enough that our microwave came along with a wire rack.

photo 5

8. Dip the doughnut into the bowl of frosting one at a time. Really let the doughnut soak into the frosting then flip it over and place it on the wire rack. Repeat for each doughnut.

photo 3(1)

9. Let the doughnuts harden for about 20-30 minutes, so that the icing solidifies on the top of the icing. Eat and enjoy.

photo 1

These doughnuts are the bomb. I wish there was a never ending supply of these because they are just that good. The doughnut is really soft and moist inside, which is nice because it is baked instead of fried. The icing really soaks into the cake too. It gives a good syrupy taste inside the doughnut. The spices mix really well. At first I was worried because when I tasted the batter it was kind of over spiced. I think that baking in the oven helped mix all of it together and let it become less ginger-like. I can’t wait to enjoy these in the morning with my hot chocolate. I may even crumble one into my bowl of oatmeal. I am getting all kinds of ideas now.

photo 2

I am obsessed with doughnuts. I’m not even sure what started this obsession. Maybe Gourdoughs? Dunkin? I’m not sure, but who cares because doughnuts are so delicious. I can’t wait to start exploring with other recipes in my pan. This will definitely be a treat for my weekends every few weeks or so. I am already brainstorming delicious doughnut combinations. Ya’ll will be excited with what my brain has for you! I hope you enjoyed this recipe and try it out because you definitely won’t be disappointed.

What is your favorite flavor of doughnut?
What is the best pumpkin treat you have made this fall?

Leave a Reply

