S’mores Banana

Hey ya’ll! Today is such an exciting day. We had our first “snow”. Technically it was only snow flurries, but it was still exciting to wake up and see it snowing out the window. I’m lucky because I get to stay inside, enjoy the weather from the window, sip on my hot chocolate, and study for my advanced nutrition exam. This makes me one happy camper! It also is getting my really excited for the holidays. I can’t wait for Thanksgivukkah! Also as an avid shopper, I’m looking forward to Black Friday, but enough about that! Onwards to the delicious recipe that I’m about to share with ya’ll: Banana S’mores! A healthy alternative to my favorite treat.

IMG_1362

Banana S’mores

1 banana
10-12 mini marshmallows
a sprinkle of chocolate chips
aluminum foil

IMG_1359

1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

2.. Unlike how I did it in the picture, you want to peel your banana first before placing it into a sheet of aluminum foil. Once you peel the banana, place it in the aluminum foil, wrapping the foil around the sides of the banana. Then make a deep slice into the banana, so that it spreads open a bit.

IMG_1360

3. You then want to stuff the banana with your marshmallows and chocolate chips. This is the fun part. You can either just do marshmallows and chocolate chips or you can get really creative, such as adding nuts, dried fruit, etc. You can also either limit yourself by only putting a few or you can add a lot.

4. Then place in the oven on a baking sheet. You can either let it cook for 12 minutes or just keep on the oven light and monitor it for when the marshmallows get toasty. I prefer the second option because I get to make it as melty as I want.

IMG_1365

5. Remove from the oven, let cool, and eat out of the aluminum foil wrapper. Enjoy.

IMG_1366

This treat is so delicious and really low calorie. If you are having a sweet craving, but don’t want to spend all the calories in something super fattening then this is the way to go. It provides you a ton of fiber from the banana base and you get the sweetness from the marshmallows and chocolate chips. If you really want it to be s’mores like, you can crumble a graham cracker along the inside of the banana before you place it in the oven. I didn’t miss the graham cracker part because my favorite part of a s’mores is the way the marshmallow gets crispy on the outside, but is extremely soft and melted on the inside. This sort of reminded me of a campfire treat and you could actually make these while camping. Instead of placing them in the oven, you just put them over the fire.

I hope ya’ll enjoyed this recipe because my stomach sure did! I can’t wait to get creative and make all kinds of combinations with my bananas. Now it is back to studying for nutrition. Fatty acids are on my mind. Nerd out.

What would you put in your stuffed banana?
What is the best s’mores flavored treat that you have had?

One thought on “S’mores Banana

Leave a Reply

