French Pastries Make Anything Better

Hey ya’ll! It is Monday. For the first time, I’m actually pretty excited that it is Monday. It is the last day of class for me and the best part is we are having speakers in some of my classes because they assumed that most people would go out of town, so class is optional (well except for my applied physiology class, but I have to turn in my review paper, so weeeee). I have a delicious treat for ya’ll this Monday. FRENCH PASTRIES. Seriously I think that French pastries make anything better. One of the best places in the city is Mille Feuille, which is located over near NYU. Man if only Columbia was over there. I would be probably 5000 lbs (haha jk because that would kill me). Anyways there is nothing like a delicious pastry and some hot chocolate on a cold day.

mille-feuille-bakery-west-village-nyc-best-bakery_031212_190437

It is a really small shop, but it is packed with delicious treats. I was so cold, but the inside of the bakery was so warm that I think I was almost sweating. I made Carrianne sit outside with me, so I didn’t die to death inside while I nommed on my treats. It is a really cute shop though. The interior is decorated nicely, there is some stools to sit on, and it smells amazing. One of the coolest things about this little bakery is that they offer cooking classes for french macarons and croissants. Let me tell you, this is definitely the place you want to learn how to make either from (they have amazing macarons!).

photo 1

Ummm look at these containers of french pastries. I think I died and went to heaven. I have actually been here before on a trip with my dad and little brother to New York. That is how I knew about this place beforehand since pastries isn’t the top thing I’m creeping on yelp for. It was really hard to choose what I wanted to get because I was torn between so many things. Look at those cronuts, they look so good. If we go back, I’m definitely going to be getting one of those because they had chocolate, raspberry, and almond. I would have gotten the chocolate or raspberry, but anyways on to what I ended up eating.

photo 2

Look at this beautiful piece of croissant. It is pink, my favorite color. I think that is probably one of the main reasons that I gravitated towards this treat. The pink on the outside was beautiful. It was a raspberry flavored sugar that was sprinkled all over the top of the croissant. It was beautiful, but it was definitely a mess. When I was done eating this, I had pink stains all over my mouth. It was a pretty cute look for me.

photo 3

Look at the flakiness of the croissant. When you bite into it, the crust just falls apart in your mouth. It was so buttery and delicious. It was definitely one of the best croissants I’ve had in a long time. Although nothing will ever compare to the chocolate croissants I have had in Europe (the funny thing is, the best chocolate croissant I had was in Germany). The sugar had soaked in a little bit in the pastry, so there was also a nice hint of raspberry in every bite.

photo 4

Look at the inside of this croissant. It was an almond raspberry croissant, so the inside was filled with raspberry jam and almond paste. OMG. HEAVEN. When the two were mixed together, it was a sweet bite. The raspberry jam was perfect. It was made from fresh raspberries, so it didn’t have that artificial taste to it. I really hate when pastries just use pre-made fillings because having everything made from scratch makes it so much better. The almond paste was not too overwhelming, which was good because that helped it go along with the raspberry jam. I gobbled this thing up. I would definitely recommend this to anyone that goes here. Just be prepared to get messy.

photo 5

This place has some of the best macarons of my life. These little things are packed with so much flavor, which is what makes a good macaron. I hate when they are cooked perfectly, but do not taste what the actual flavor is. These were coconut and pistachio. The pistachio is definitely a favorite. It tastes like freshly roasted pistachio nuts. If you closed your eyes, you would think that you are actually eating pistachios. The coconut was the same way. It tasted like fresh coconut bursting inside your mouth. Other macarons that I have had from this shop include salted caramel, passionfruit, lemon, chocolate, and raspberry. Every single one of those is delicious. The salted caramel and passionfruit are definitely at the top of the list though. This place even made Carrianne enjoy macarons, so you know that Mille Feuille is legit. Noms.

Have an awesome Monday! I know I am going to! No case of the Mondays over here.

What is your favorite kind of pastry?
Have you ever had a pastry from France?

Leave a Reply

