The Sushi Date

Hey ya’ll! I only have one more full day here in Austin. It feels kind of weird since I’ve been gone from New York for so long, but I’m looking forward to going back and getting in the swing of things. Plus I just miss my roommates. We have the best roommate life. Anyways I couldn’t leave Austin without going on a traditional sushi date with my brother to one of our favorite spots in Austin: Roll On Sushi Diner. I was excited because we were going right when they started a new menu! So I was definitely going to take that new menu on a test drive to see if it was up to their standards.

IMG_3008

This was one of the new items on the menu. It was the cherry blossom, which is super cute in general because it looks like a flower on the plate. It was avocado, cucumber, and salmon wrapped with tuna and topped with spicy krab, creamy garlic sauce, and crunch. This roll was really delicious. I liked that there was two types of fish on it because it gave a nice mixture of creamy textures. The spicy krab gave a little kick to the dish too. So far Roll On was 1/1 on this new menu. I was looking forward to what else was to come.

IMG_3009

This may be my new favorite roll. Such a great addition to the menu. This was the dirty harriet. I love the plays on names for the rolls that they have here. It makes the restaurant fun and very relaxed unlike some sushi restaurants that are very traditional. The roll had spicy whitefish, cucumber, and avocado topped with baked salmon krab mix. That krab mix was the bomb. No joke. It was like a cheesy concoction that sat upon a perfect sushi roll. I was in heaven. It sort of brought me back to the Japanese Lasagna at one of my other favorite sushi restaurants in Austin: Tomodachi. Anyways I was impressed that Roll On was 2/2, but not really surprised because the quality for this restaurant was on point.

IMG_3010

This was a more simple roll on the menu, which was located under the traditional rolls section. It was just a spicy scallop crunch roll. I thought it was a great way to have a break in between all the rich rolls that we ate while at Roll On. The scallops were chopped up finely, so the bites weren’t too large to fit into my mouth. The crunch was nice because it gave a variety to the textures. Overall it was good choice to switch up with if you are thinking of getting something like the spicy tuna or salmon roll.

IMG_3012

Oh how I love rolls like this. In my opinion, the more creative the better. This was the El Goucho roll. It had brisket, arugala, roasted red peppers, and goat cheese in it. The wrapper was a soy wrapper. It was mindblowing. You would think that all of these ingredients would taste really disgusting in a sushi roll, but oh man was I surprised that this was so good. The brisket was smoky and the creaminess from the goat cheese melted right into my mouth as I would take a bite at a time. I would definitely get this one again. Go Roll On, you are killing it with these rolls.

IMG_3014

This was one of the new Austin inspired rolls. I love that Austin provides such an inspiration for food. It makes eating that much more fun. This was the 512 Club. It was deep fried and contained chicken, fried bacon, and other delicious things inside. It was served with guacamole and pico de gallo. I would never think that smearing guacamole all over a piece of sushi would be something that I would love to consume over and over again, but man once again I was surprised. This is a definite on the order again list. I thought I was going to burst at this point, but I was like MUST GET IN MOUTH. It was worth every single bite and now I’m in a sushi coma laying on my couch watching lifetime movies (yes, I’m just that cool watching lifetime movies on my winter vacation).

IMG_3007

This wasn’t a new item on the menu, but in my brother and I’s eyes this is a classic and a must for every time we go to Roll On Sushi Diner. It is the Lo Burn, which is so tasty for such a simple roll. I definitely think it is the combination of sauces with the lightly fried outside of the sushi roll that make it so amazing. I always recommend this roll to everyone that is a first timer at Roll On. It makes them fall in love with the sushi that this restaurant has to offer and it makes them realize that this isn’t your typical boring sushi restaurant. With the jalapeno and tempura shrimp, it gives you the best of both worlds: fried things and spiciness. It isn’t a trip to Roll On without this bad boy.

IMG_3011

This item isn’t new either, but it is something that I haven’t reviewed. I definitely recommend this one too. It is the dream roll and man does it gives me happy dreams of delicious sushi. The roll has tempura shrimp, spicy tuna, cream cheese, and cucumber topped with krab, yellow tail, salmon, avocado, spicy mayo, unagi sauce, crunch, and scallions. It is a million things that somehow mesh so well together. I think something that sets these rolls apart besides the creativity is the freshness of the fish. All the proteins used in the rolls are top quality, which always makes it that much better.

I am in love with Roll On Sushi Diner as I have been for the last two years since they have been open. Discovering this place was a dream come true. The staff is fantastic and always trying to make your experience better than the previous one. They are always coming up with creative rolls and menu items, which makes it fun and exciting to always go because something is always new. I love this place and am a total loyal customer for life.

What is your favorite sushi place?
Do you like to eat sushi?

One thought on “The Sushi Date

  1. I love sushi. I like the cute names too. I once designed for a sushi restaurant here that was very high end and they also had interesting names. I think names on a menu is kind of like covers on books. You shouldn’t judge a book by it’s cover, but if you’re stuck and want to make a decision quickly, an interesting, beautiful or novelty cover will get picked first.

    I’ve never heard of Japanese lasagna. What’s that like?

Leave a Reply

