Morimoto: The Holy Grail of NYC Restaurant Week

Hey ya’ll! I have returned from my ski-cation with a sore body, but it was all really worth it. I had a great time with my friends and even survived my first time skiing. Since it was still restaurant week until March 7th (this Friday), I decided that I had to go. My roommate and I scanned the list, and our eyes exploded at one of the places that was available to go to: Morimoto. If you don’t know who Chef Morimoto is then you should definitely me ashamed of yourself. He is one of the Iron Chefs and is a bad ass in the kitchen. At 25$ for an entree and a dessert, I was definitely getting my butt over to Morimoto since I can’t afford this place regularly.

IMG_3205

My roommate ended up going with the Morimoto burger. It looked amazing. I even got to have a bite and it was pretty great. The bread was really soft and the meat was cooked to perfection. Not too chewy or too tough. It was a dry aged burger with miso Russian dressing, sake kasu soba ale cheese, soy ginger shiitakes, and house made nori bun. It was served with some chips that were really delicious. It was also like a little bento box, which is how all the entree options came for New York City Restaurant Week. Morimoto was on point with this. This was definitely a stellar choice. It was pretty hard to choose because the menu had a wide selection of options such as wagyu beef, fried chicken, black cod, and so much more.

IMG_3207

I ended up going with the veggie bop. It was a nice Japanese twist on a classic Korean dish. It came served over rice and was prepared at the table (which I thought was sort of weird since at most Korean places we usually stir our own bibimbap). This one had mushrooms, bok choy, asparagus, sliced carrots, daikon, and a bunch of other delicious vegetables. It was topped with an egg to be fried in the hot bowl. Instead of the traditional spicy sauce, this bop was served with a nice spicy sesame dressing. I really liked the twist of this.

IMG_3206

This was what the rest of our bento box looked like. Overall, I think that this was a very good deal for a NYC Restaurant Week meal. It was tough because they were only having the menu during lunch, so we had to book a time when we could both go and were not in class. Luckily we got a time right at 12 pm when the restaurant opened. Anyways both of our meals typically cost 20$ on the regular. So we were already almost to the cost point of having a 25$ prix fixe meal.

IMG_3210

The salad in the bento box was awesome. It was tossed with some roasted nuts and had a really delicious vinaigrette served on top. This may have been my favorite thing in the bento box. I could have definitely taken a large salad like this before my meal. I will definitely be trying to recreate the salad dressing, so I can enjoy it myself at my apartment. Thanks Morimoto!

IMG_3209

The miso soup was actually quite good too. It was definitely different than the other miso soups that I have had in my life. The broth was more sweet I think than others I’ve had. The tofu was great. It was silken and there were a ton of chunks floating around in it. With the bento box, I actually felt that I was eating pretty healthy overall.

IMG_3203

Obviously I couldn’t go to Morimoto and not order myself a sushi roll. It was a hard choice, but I ended up going with the soft shell crab roll. It was definitely a good decision on my part. It was amazing. The rice was perfectly seasoned on the outside and the inside – my oh my. It was stuffed with fish eggs, avocado, asparagus, and soft shell crab that had been fried. There was also a nice spicy mayo sauce on the inside of the roll. The pieces were huge, but I definitely didn’t care. I shoved each and every one of them into my mouth.

IMG_3204

Look at that bad boy. The last two end pieces were the hardest to eat, but so worth it. If I could afford this place, I would so go back and nom on all the sushi available. I would love to have some of the appetizers too. They looked amazing. Morimoto is definitely the best place to go. This sushi roll wasn’t on the prix fix menu, but who cares. You got to treat yourself every once and a while.

IMG_3212

The dessert was the bomb. It was pretty much a lemon bar topped with whip cream and pistachios. It was served with some pistachio gelato. I probably could have gone without the gelato and just had more lemon bar. It was that good. The whipcream was really light and not heavy, which was good. It let you really enjoy the pure taste of the lemon. The nuts gave a nice crunch to the creamy smoothness of the lemon bar. Overall it was a win. Morimoto, I love you and thank you for having a delicious restaurant week menu!

One thought on “Morimoto: The Holy Grail of NYC Restaurant Week

Leave a Reply

