Sweet Potato, Kale, Caramelized Onion Cauliflower Pizza

Hey ya’ll! I just had a mini panic attack. I thought I wasn’t going to be able to blog today because my computer wouldn’t connect to the internet. After multiple scream sessions (at least without me throwing anything), I managed to get my computer back onto the internet. Today I have a special recipe for you. A sweet potato, kale, caramelized onion cauliflower pizza. Wow. That is a mouthful. It is definitely a mouthful of greatness.

Sweet Potato, Kale, Caramelized Onion Cauliflower Pizza

IMG_3173

1 c of Kale (you can add more if you want, which I ended up doing)
1 onion
1-2 large sweet potatoes (this depends on how much sweet potato sauce that you want)
1 tbsp olive oil
3 tbsp skim milk
1 bag of frozen cauliflower
2-3 tbsp of basil paste
1-2 tbsp of garlic
2 eggs
1 cup of fat free mozzarella cheese
Extras: I added some honey sesame chicken that I made a few days before on top, cheese for the top

IMG_3170

1. Preheat oven to 400 degrees. Stab sweet potato with a fork all over and place into the oven. Cook for about 45 minutes or until soft.

2. Chop onions into slices. Place oil into a skill and toss in onions. Keep on medium to high heat. Stir every few minutes for around 30 minutes. Keep going until brown and caramelized.

3. Once they have caramelized, add in the kale. Cook until it has softened.

IMG_3171

4. Boil all of cauliflower in a pot for around 5 minutes or until soft. Then place into a food processor. Grind until into fine bits that are easily mashed.

5. Place into a mixing bowl. Add in the basil and garlic. Mix well.

6. Then add in cheese and eggs. Spray a cooking sheet or cover it with parchment paper (then spray it with cooking spray). Place mixture on the paper and smash it down until it forms a large pizza.

7. Once the sweet potatoes are done, remove, and turn the oven up to 450. Place in the oven and bake for 25-3o minutes, waiting until the crust is pretty brown.

IMG_3172

8. While the crust is cooking, take your sweet potatoes and get out all of the insides and place into a small mixing bowl. Add in the milk an stir well until it makes a creamy paste.

9. Once the pizza is removed from the oven, spread the paste on the pizza as if it was sauce.

10. Then add on all of the toppings on the pizza with the cheese being the last thing that goes on the pizza. Place back into the oven until the cheese melts.

11. Enjoy!

IMG_3175

Look at that bad boy. It was packed with nutritional benefits and it had a ton of flavor. It was definitely one of the best cauliflower pizzas that I have made. You really can’t go wrong with caramelized onions. They are one of my favorite pizza toppings. The kale was actually really nice too because when it was in the oven it got crispy and turned more into kale chips. The sweet potato was a good alternative to pizza sauce because it was more creamy and smooth compared to the chunkier sauces that I have used. I was pretty much in a pizza coma. There was so much fiber packed into this that I was full for hours upon hours until I went to bed that night. That is a nutrition win if I do say so myself.

IMG_3177

The one mistake that I made was not spraying the pan with nonstick spray. It took me forever to get each slice off of the pan. It still tasted great though. The chicken was a good addition because it allowed me to get some protein while I was consuming all of this vegetables. I will definitely be making this again. It has inspired me to make some other kind of pizzas too, such as BBQ chicken pizza or a thai style pizza. I really like making the massive pizza instead of making 4 individual ones because it just provides with bigger slices and lots of little portions for me to eat throughout the week.

IMG_3176

I hope you enjoy my little slice of pizza heaven and have a good Tuesday. I’m going to be off to class soon, which consists of Nutrition Counseling and Food Nutrition and Behavior. Tuesdays are a long day for me, so I pack a ton of snacks to enjoy throughout the class. I will be having my leftover pizza for dinner though.

What is your favorite type of pizza?
What is the best topping on pizza?


2 thoughts on “Sweet Potato, Kale, Caramelized Onion Cauliflower Pizza

  1. Pingback: For days that stink. Lifesavers and fresh basil. | soulfoood

  2. Pingback: Nutrition Fact Friday: Cauliflower | The Functional Foodie

Leave a Reply

