WIAW at Grub Street

Hey ya’ll! It is that amazing time of the week again. What I Ate Wednesday, thanks to Jenn. I have another awesome share for my favorite day. I swear I go to so many food festivals. Here in the city, there probably is a food fest about every weekend, so when I saw that the Grub Street Food Festival was going on this past Sunday, I obviously had to go. I dragged my roommates and they happily trekked to the Lower East Side with me. Lets get to the good part: the food.

photo 5

When we first got there, we decided to walk around the entire event to see all the food options. The set up was pretty great. It was at a park on a track, so they set up the booths all around the track with a few in the middle. There were also a ton of tables in the middle of the track, but because so many people were there, we ended up having to sit at a checker table near the side. Once we walked around for a few minutes, we were ready to get our grub on.

photo 1(1)

The reason I found out about this specific food festival was because I follow Doughnut Plant on Instagram. They said that they were going to be at the festival with pumpkin, apple cider, and coffee cake doughnuts. Obviously that was one reason to go. Their delicious doughnuts are life changing and these were no different. They were serving different types of each flavor. The options were cake, yeast, or doughseed. We ended up choosing the cake doughnut because it was said to be the most dense.

photo 2(1)

Look at this perfect specimen. The lightly toasted pumpkin seeds on top. The small amount of pumpkin glaze that covered this doughnut. It was packed with pumpkin delicious flavor. The doughnut was so moist, which was nice because the texture was very cakey, but in a good way. It was a small doughnut, but it was perfect to split with Carrianne because we wanted to be able to eat as much as possible. My other roommate ended up getting the Apple Cider yeast doughnut and it looked amazing. She gobbled it up. Oh how I love fall flavored treats.

photo 3(1)

Next up was Asia Dog. I’ve been wanting to go here for a while now. I missed out on going at Smorgasburg, so I was kind of bummed out. When I saw that they were having a stand at the Grub Street Fest, I knew that I had to go get one. I have an obsession with hot dogs. I think they are such a classic American treat. So delicious. At Grub Street Asia Dog wasn’t serving up their typical fair, but instead they were doing corn dogs. Even better.

photo 4(1)

I ended up getting the tonkatsu with beef dog. You can get the corndogs if you go to the store front, but at this festival they were only serving them and not their other treats. This corndog was covered in a panko crust and served alongside was katsu mayo dipping sauce. It was amazing. I feel like panko crumbs make anything taste better. The mayo was a like a sweet Asian honey mustard sauce. It was awesome. The crunch of the outside was perfect with the softness of the inside of the dough. The beef hotdog was a perfect combination with this corndog breading.

photo 5(1)

My roommate who is vegetarian ended up going to this delicious looking pizza place. The funny thing was that I had bookmarked this pizza place on yelp, so when she let me have a slice of her pizza I was in heaven. The crust was thin like it is in Italy, so when you picked the piece up it flopped down. The cheese was delicious. It was huge slices of mozzarella all over. The sauce was also evenly spread out through the crust and not that much on the pizza. I’m not a big fan of sauce, I really just enjoy toppings, so it was my dream pizza. I will definitely be going to this pizza shop.

photo 1

Now to the best thing of the whole day. Little Muenster. Yet another place that I had bookmarked on yelp for a must visit in the city. Oh how I am perfect at finding the best places. I ended up getting the beef brisket grilled cheese. It was the best grilled cheese I have ever had. The beef brisket was moist and tender. It pulled apart as you bit into it. The cheese was melted so well. It pulled in strings as you pulled it out of your mouth. The bread was toasted perfectly. It was crispy, but not burnt. This is the best comfort food.

photo 3

Carrianne ended up getting the squash grilled cheese. It was delicious. We ended up swapping half of each of our sandwiches for one of the other. That way we got to enjoy both of them. This was a good vegetarian option. It had a ton of different cheeses and it was topped with butternut squash. There could have been more squash on the sandwich, but otherwise it was perfect. I will definitely be going to their storefront whenever I need a nice warm grilled cheese to brighten my day.

I hope ya’ll enjoyed my post on this amazing food festival. It only happens once a year, so next year in October you better be headed down to Lower East Side.

What would be on your dream grilled cheese?
What is your favorite fall flavor?

5 thoughts on “WIAW at Grub Street

Leave a comment